Finding OERs by Discipline

This ASCCC OERI-supported resource was authored by Mario Barrio de Mendoza, Karla Gutierrez, Hsing Ho, Ching-Ping D. Lin, and Anaid Stere Lugo. (2021, Libretexts, CC-BY-NC 4.0)
¡Naveguemos Juntos! Navigate with Us! welcomes you to the Spanish-speaking world and its language. This OER is designed to provide students access to interactive activities in order to reinforce the acquired knowledge of the basic Spanish vocabulary and grammatical points. The activities presented in each chapter are contextualized and interconnected through the Spanish language and culture. This text was created for students taking the first year of Spanish; intended as an introductory Spanish course that covers levels 1 and 2 at community colleges. Instructors can use it as is, download a PDF of all the activities, or incorporate it in the LMS of their college (including Canvas).

Part 1 and Part 2 are designed for first-year Spanish with the goal of increasing oral proficiency according to ACTFL standards. The activities are designed to be versatile for working on at-home, in-class, as solo activities, with partners or groups. Students can use this book as a workbook, and access it on any of their devices while in class. We hope you enjoy the book and your first semester of Spanish at CSU Pueblo! ¡Bienvenidos!

This is an open educational, content-forward resource for first-semester students of Spanish that seeks to foster appreciation of the Spanish-speaking world and contributions of Latinos to American society while developing novice-mid proficiency in productive and receptive skills. The authors, Lennie Amores, PhD (University of Miami), and Janice Rodríguez, MA (University of Pennsylvania), have a combined fifty years of experience teaching college students.

PLUMA is a narrative-based language learning program for the first three levels of college Spanish. This program is organically aligned with ACTFL, featuring Can-Do Statements as an organizing principle. It is grounded in narrative-based teaching and learning that evolves from people’s lived experiences and fragments of the history and culture of their countries of origin.
3 VOLUMES. 5 eMagazine ISSUES PER VOLUME:
Volume 1, issues 1-5, prepares learners to communicate in Spanish at the Novice-high level (ACTFL)
Volume 2, issues 1-5, prepares learners to communicate in Spanish at the Intermediate-low level.
Volume 3, issues 1-5, prepares learners to communicate in Spanish at the Intermediate-mid level.

This is an open course with shareable course material including syllabi, course activities, reading, and assessments. Completion of the study of the first-year sequence of basic skills. This course was formerly known as Spanish 101. Prerequisite: none. Students will learn vocabulary related to greetings and farewells, courtesy expressions, college courses, professions, family relationships, pastimes, city places, numbers, days of the week, months and how to tell time. Students learn grammatical structures that support sentence formation, such as nouns and articles; descriptive and possessive adjectives; the present tense of ser, estar, tener, venir, ir, ver and oír; the present tense of regular –ar, –er and –ir verbs; stem changing verbs (e-ie, e-i and o-ue); verbs with irregular yo forms (hacer, poner, salir, suponer and traer); and question formation.

This is an open course with shareable course material including syllabi, course activities, reading, and assessments. Students will learn vocabulary related to transportation and lodging, days of the week, months, seasons, weather expressions, clothing, colors, daily routine, personal hygiene, sequencing expressions, foods, meals and adjectives that describe food. Students will learn grammatical structures that support sentence formation such as estar with conditions and emotions, the present progressive tense, the uses of ser and estar, direct object nouns and pronouns, numbers 101 and higher, the preterit tense of regular verbs, stem changing verbs and ser and ir, indirect object pronouns, demonstrative adjectives and pronouns, reflexive verbs, indefinite and negative words, the preterit of ser and ir, gustar and verbs like gustar, double object pronouns, saber and conocer, and comparisons and superlatives.

This is an open course with shareable course material including syllabi, course activities, reading, and assessments. Students will learn vocabulary related to celebrations and the stages of life, personal relationships, health and medical conditions and parts of the body, the car and its accessories, computers and electronic products, the parts of the house and household chores and table settings. Students will learn grammatical structures that support sentence formation such as irregular preterits, verbs that change meaning in the preterit, relative pronouns, ¿qué? and ¿cuál?, the imperfect tense, constructions with se, adverbs, distinguishing between the preterit and the imperfect tenses, por and para, stressed possessive adjectives and pronouns, formal commands, the present subjunctive tense and the subjunctive with verbs of will and influence.

¡Chévere! is based on a communicative approach aligned with technology and engages students by fostering diverse literacies, intercultural understanding, and proficiency-oriented language instruction. Content includes culturally authentic narratives, many written by students, exploring various aspects of life and culture in the Spanish-speaking world in contact with the U.S.

Beginning Spanish, ¡Empecemos por aquí! (CC-BY-NC) focuses on Interpretive, Interpersonal, and Presentational communication skills while centering student voice. Activities engage students in real exchange of information on topics that are relevant to adult students. In addition to language acquisition learning outcomes, this text supports learning outcomes in diversity and inclusion, cultural sustainability, and social justice.

University of West Georgia textbook for Spanish I, II, and III.

It is an open textbook intended for conversation review, typically a fourth-semester Spanish class. The textbook is organized around nine different songs that provide students opportunities to practice, aurally and orally, as well as in writing, the main communicative goals and key grammatical structures learned in previous classes. It can also be used in similar high school classes.

Entrada libre is an intermediate/advanced college-level Spanish OER grammar manual for second language learners and heritage speakers of Spanish at the community college level. Instructors will be able to download the entire manual as well as the Entrada Libre H5P activities library or use the OER Remixer from LibreTexts to adapt, edit, and customize content and publish it in their course management system. Each of the 24 units includes a reading with examples of the grammar points used in context, grammar explanation, and self-graded follow-up activities for practice using H5P as a formative assessment.

This anthology focuses on canonical authors and an attempt to include voices that have been marginalized. Each text includes an introduction and annotations created by students. Some of the authors include: Don Juan Manuel, Cristóbal Colón, Hernán Cortés, Sor Juana, Gustavo Bécquer, Clorinda Matto de Turner, Rubén Darío, and many others.

This is an introductory textbook on nineteenth-century Spanish literature with a thematic focus on legends and archetypes. It is designed for intermediate Spanish students at the university level. It includes poetry, drama in verse, and short story.

This textbook is designed to facilitate the teaching and understanding of Cervantes’s seminal work, Don Quijote, with historical information, narrative techniques, lists of characters, themes and keywords. Each chapter includes a summary in English, activities, quizzes and resources include word games, event sequencing, and brainstorming activities as well as chapter tests with essay questions similar to those found on AP exams.

This website is designed to review grammar concepts with grammar explanations using authentic video examples and Spanish in Texas Practice Quizzes (CC BY) available to be used in Canvas. Grammar practice topics include: adjectives, adverbs, conjunctions, determiners, negation, nouns, prepositions, pronouns, verbs. It also includes Listening Practice with Canvas quizzes for beginner, intermediate, and advanced students.

This is a bilingual grammar manual for advanced students. It can be used for general review and reference in courses from second-year Spanish (B2) up. Each grammar point includes an explanation, examples, and practice activities. It also includes H5P activities as part of the interactive exercises.

Este manual gramatical acompaña el curso SPAN 301: Conversación y composición avanzada con un temático que sigue los primeros cinco episodios del programa televisivo El Ministerio del Tiempo. La clase se organiza a base de cuatro apartados: la descripción, la narración, el relato periodístico y el ensayo académico.

The Tarea Libre project is a comprehensive and accessible Open Educational Resources question bank of 1,400 interactive activities created in LibreStudio and ADAPT for first-year Spanish courses for California Community Colleges. The content can be used via ADAPT or linked to a campus Learning Management System via LTI. This LTI integration seamlessly connects the assigned activities to the grade book streamlining the assigning and grading of homework.

This site provides videos of second language and heritage language learners of Spanish on a variety of topics. It includes activities based on different applied linguistics concepts related to language acquisition.

This site provides activities for specific levels of proficiency using COERLL’s multimedia Spanish resources.

This site provides practice modules with video-based activities following the ACTFL speaking Proficiency Guidelines and to help teachers evaluate the speaking levels of the language student.

Divided by levels: beginning, intermediate A, intermediate B, advanced A, advanced B, superior this site includes a compilation of brief video clips from native speakers from Latin America and Spain with brief mini-grammar explanations on grammar principles related to the proficiency topic.

This archive includes hundreds of short video clips from interviews of native and heritage speakers of Spanish living in Texas. Videos are captioned with transcripts with thematic, grammatical, functional, and metalinguistic information. All materials can be used freely, copied, and distributed under Creative Commons license.

The Mixxer is an entirely free non-profit website hosted by Dickinson College. The site is open to anyone looking to practice with a native speaker in exchange for help with their own. Once registered, users can contact potential language exchange partners via live chat on the site. Members can practice speaking with the language partner via Skype or improve their writing by submitting a writing sample and asking for corrections from native speakers. Those using the writing function are asked to return the favor by correcting short samples in their native language. Our guidelines are very simple. Members are here to practice a language (this is an educational site, not a dating site), and everyone agrees to be respectful and courteous to all users at all times. Welcome to our community where everyone is both teacher and learner.

It features a collection of over 100 classroom-ready interpersonal speaking activities for novice and intermediate learners. Touching on a range of thematic topics such as free time activities, travel, daily routines, health, the environment, art and so much more, Spanish teachers are sure to find an activity to use in their courses. These activities may be used as is or can easily be revised and remixed to fit the unique needs of individual classrooms. All materials were created by faculty, staff, and students involved with the Pathways Project.

Free Spanish podcasts arranged by level of proficiency, with exercises, textbook, personal stats, and other learning resources.

LibriVox contains recordings of literary classics, autobiographies, plays, and poetry among many other genres all recorded in a variety of languages. English, French, German and Italian are just a few of all languages represented on LibriVox.