Finding OERs by Discipline

26 modules developed by smARThistory, 2019. The "the long history of African-American struggle — through art and artifacts." Each module, which goes from the slave trade to current events, has videos, readings, and a short quiz. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons
Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Slavery to Liberation: The African American Experience gives instructors, students, and general readers a comprehensive and up-to-date account of African Americans’ cultural and political history, economic development, artistic expressiveness, and religious and philosophical worldviews in a critical framework. It offers sound interdisciplinary analysis of selected historical and contemporary issues surrounding the origins and manifestations of White supremacy in the United States. By placing race at the center of the work, the book offers significant lessons for understanding the institutional marginalization of Blacks in contemporary America and their historical resistance and perseverance.

Developed by Gordon State College, 2019, this textbook "contains all modular text content used in the LMS implementation of their American History I (HIST 2111) courses. American History 1 covers topics ranging from the colonial period to the Civil War." Includes lecture slides and primary source documents. PDF and editable Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

The American LGBTQ Rights Movement: An Introduction is a peer-reviewed chronological survey of the LGBTQ fight for equal rights from the turn of the 20th century to the early 21st century. Illustrated with historical photographs, the book beautifully reveals the heroic people and key events that shaped the American LGBTQ rights movement. The book includes personal narratives to capture the lived experience from each era, as well as details of essential organizations, texts, and court cases that defined LGBTQ activism and advocacy.

The decision to write this textbook grew out of our experience teaching California history to an increasingly diverse student population. Our classrooms contain an exciting mix of students from a myriad of ethnic, multiethnic, international, gender, and socioeconomic backgrounds. Their levels of academic readiness also differ, and nearly all are products of a visual, rather than print-oriented, culture.

This textbook examines U.S. History from before European Contact through Reconstruction, while focusing on the people and their history. Prior to its publication, History in the Making underwent a rigorous double-blind peer review, a process that involved over thirty scholars who reviewed the materially carefully, objectively, and candidly in order to ensure not only its scholarly integrity but also its high standard of quality. This book provides a strong emphasis on critical thinking about US History by providing several key features in each chapter. Learning Objectives at the beginning of each chapter help students to understand what they will learn in each chapter.

Sage American History is divided into 30 chronological sections, colonial through modern times. This OER is designed for use by undergraduate college, community college, and high school teachers and students. It may be used without charge by any academic institution or individual as long as copyrights are respected. The course materials, developed by Henry J. Sage who teaches at Northern Virginia Community College, focus on the main events and characters of America’s past, recognizing that most students will take only one or two courses in American history.

The American Yawp is a collaboratively built, open American history textbook designed for general readers and college-level history courses. Over three hundred academic historians—scholars and experienced college-level instructors—have come together and freely volunteered their expertise to help democratize the American past for twenty-first century readers.

U.S. History is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of most introductory courses. The text provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience). U.S. History covers key forces that form the American experience, with particular attention to issues of race, class, and gender.

"This text comes almost entirely from OpenStax U.S. History, but is supplemented with primary source readings from The American Yawp Reader. There are other minor additions and enhancements made by Lumen Learning or other faculty." Online course with PDF download option, as well as PowerPoints and assignments. Course overall has CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution), but individual page content may have different or additional licenses.

"This text comes almost entirely from OpenStax U.S. History, but is supplemented with primary source readings from The American Yawp Reader. There are other minor additions and enhancements made by Lumen Learning or other faculty." Online course with PDF download option, as well as PowerPoints and assignments. Course overall has CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution), but individual page content may have different or additional licenses.

This textbook examines U.S. History from before European Contact through Reconstruction, while focusing on the people and their history.

This is a link to the Amazon.com profile for this text which could be used as a low-cost textbook (less than $50). Part of the ReVisioning History for Young People series.

University of New Mexico Press, 1997. Organized into 2 parts, with 7 chapters. Ech chapter has online or PDF download formats. Not openly licensed but freely available to view or link to.

Open SUNY, 2013. “[A]n introductory text about the Native peoples of North America (primarily the United States and Canada) presented from an anthropological perspective. As such, the text is organized around anthropological concepts such as language, kinship, marriage and family life, political and economic organization, food getting, spiritual and religious practices, and the arts. Prehistoric, historic and contemporary information is presented. Each chapter begins with an example from the oral tradition that reflects the theme of the chapter.” Textbook edition available in PDF and EPUB versions. CC BY NC SA (Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license.

Welcome to Modern World History! This is the textbook for an undergraduate survey course taught at all the universities and most of the colleges in the Minnesota State system. Similar courses are taught at institutions around the United States and the world, so the authors have made the text available as an open educational resource that teachers and learners can read, adapt, and reuse to meet their needs. We’d like to hear from people who have found the text useful, and we’re always open to questions and suggestions.

This is the second edition of the open access textbook that arose out of a course at the University of California, San Diego, called HILD 10: East Asia: The Great Tradition. The course covers what have become two Chinas, Japan, and two Koreas from roughly 1200 BC to about AD 1200. As we say every Fall in HILD 10: “2400 years, three countries, ten weeks, no problem.” The book does not stand alone: the teacher should assign primary and secondary sources, study questions, dates to be memorized, etc. The maps mostly use the same template to enable students to compare them one to the next.

This volume covers the origins of civilization in Mesopotamia c. 8,000 BCE through the early Middle Ages in Europe c. 1,000 CE and explores Mesopotamia, Egypt, Persia, Greece, Rome, the Islamic caliphates, and the early European Middle Ages.

Volume II addresses the early Middle Ages to the French Revolution in 1789 CE. This text covers topics including the High Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the European conquest of the Americas, the Reformation, the Scientific Revolution, and the Enlightenment.

This volume covers topics including the Industrial Revolution, the politics of Europe in the nineteenth century, modern European imperialism, the world wars, fascism, Nazism, and the Holocaust, the postwar era, the Cold War, and recent developments in economics and politics.

World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500 offers a comprehensive introduction to the history of humankind from prehistory to 1500. Authored by six USG faculty members with advance degrees in History, this textbook offers up-to-date original scholarship. It covers such cultures, states, and societies as Ancient Mesopotamia, Ancient Israel, Dynastic Egypt, India's Classical Age, the Dynasties of China, Archaic Greece, the Roman Empire, Islam, Medieval Africa, the Americas, and the Khanates of Central Asia.

World History, Volume 1: to 1500 is designed to meet the scope and sequence of a world history course to 1500 offered at both two-year and four-year institutions. Suitable for both majors and non majors World History, Volume 1: to 1500 introduces students to a global perspective of history couched in an engaging narrative. Concepts and assessments help students think critically about the issues they encounter so they can broaden their perspective of global history. A special effort has been made to introduce and juxtapose people’s experiences of history for a rich and nuanced discussion.

"A self-paced learning resource or course jointly sponsored by the Park Ethnography Program and the Cultural Resources Stewardship Careers Program." Organized into five sections: Key Concepts, Ethnographic Research Center, Content Modules, Heritage Preservation Notes and the Learning Resources Center. Online format. Public domain.

A documentary companion to the American Yawp textbook, with primary source readings for both Volume I (before 1877) and Volume II (after 1877). CC BY SA (Attribution - Share Alike) license with public domain readings.

"Classic Cinema Online provides film students with an excellent collection of movie serials to watch and study. Here you will find classic movie serials like Flash Gordon, Dick Tracy, Captain America, and more. In addition, several of the classic movies in their collection feature the promotional advertising billboards shown at movie theaters." Silent films, serials, and films in the public domain.

“Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more. Each set includes a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide.” CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Evergreen State College. "The Enduring Legacies Native Cases Initiative develops culturally relevant curriculum and teaching resources in the form of case studies on key issues in Indian Country. Culturally relevant curriculum is a key factor in student success and essential to prepare students for leadership roles. Key topics of our cases have been identified by Native leaders."

Online Canvas course shared by Rita Kiki Edozie, CanvasNet, 2016. "eSankofa is a 'massive open online community course conversation' that leverages African American history and heritage to engage with new digital disciplinary studies. This course is designed to challenge your thoughts and perceptions about the Black Race and give rise to a “call of action” within yourself as a learner." Organized into thematic modules, with badges, readings, discussions, and assignments. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.

Compilation of historical and primary source writings by a variety of African American writers and historians. Online, EPUB, and full text formats. Public domain.

An ongoing digitization project, the site contains the full text of over three hundred treaties concerning Native American Indian tribes. A table of contents organized by year, an index organized by tribe, and a keyword search engine are also included.

"Information dedicated to preserving, educating, and sharing the story of World War II-era incarceration of Japanese Americans in order to deepen understandings of American history and inspire action for equity." CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

OER Canvas course developed and shared by Sue Matheson, CanvasNet, 2020. "Designed for audiences interested in American culture, this six-week course offers fascinating insights into Hollywood's presentation of the American Character, depictions of American Indians and the American West, and the genre's ethical ambiguities." Modules organized by specific film title, with related lectures, readings, discussion forums, and quizzes; could use Canvas course structure with different films. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

The book collects together and republishes a set of essays by Frank G. Speck that were originally issued as separate articles in The Southern Workman. The papers, which were written early in Speck's career, during the period 1907-1911, draw upon his first-hand observations in the Indian and Oklahoma Territories on the eve of Oklahoma statehood. In contrast to his more dispassionate ethnographic writings, which were published in venues read primarily by professional anthropologists and folklorists, these essays were published for a popular audience in the journal of the Hampton Normal and Agricultural Institute, an important college serving African American and Native American students.

Canvas course shared by California Community Colleges, 2019. Uses the OpenStax OER textbook for U.S. History, covers Reconstruction era through 21st century. Organized into chapter modules, with readings, powerpoints, and appendices of primary sources. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Emory University, 2019. "This digital memorial raises questions about the largest slave trades in history and offers access to the documentation available to answer them. European colonizers turned to Africa for enslaved laborers to build the cities and extract the resources of the Americas. They forced millions of mostly unnamed Africans across the Atlantic to the Americas, and from one part of the Americas to another. Analyze these slave trades and view interactive maps, timelines, and animations to see the dispersal in action." Includes Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database, Intra-American Slave Trade Database, African Names Database, and Image Galleries. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.

OER Canvas course shared in 2020. Modules cover Ancient and Medieval History. Includes assignments, quizzes, and discussions.