Finding OERs by Discipline

In Financial Accounting, students learn the basic accounting principles, preparing them for a career in business or as the first course in their preparation to become an accountant. This course starts out teaching with a focus on small, sole-proprietorships providing a service, and gradually layers accounting practices from the most basic to the more complex accounting practices recommended for large companies. This course also includes an optional module focusing on “personal accounting,” which helps students bridge the gap between accounting for their personal finances and accounting for business.

Principles of Accounting is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of an accounting course that covers the fundamentals of financial accounting. This book is specifically designed to appeal to both accounting and non-accounting majors, exposing students to the core concepts of accounting in familiar ways to build a strong foundation that can be applied across business fields. Each chapter opens with a relatable real-life scenario for today’s college student. Thoughtfully designed examples are presented throughout each chapter, allowing students to build on emerging accounting knowledge. Concepts are further reinforced through applicable connections to more detailed business processes. Students are immersed in the “why” as well as the “how” aspects of accounting in order to reinforce concepts and promote comprehension over rote memorization.

Intermediate Financial Accounting Volume 1 by G. Arnold and S. Kyle, developed in collaboration by Athabasca University and Lyryx, is intended for a first course in Intermediate Financial Accounting, and presumes that students have already completed one or two Introductory Financial Accounting courses. The textbook reflects current International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS), such as IFRS 15 – Revenue from Contracts With Customers. This textbook provides a review of introductory accounting concepts and covers all topics essential to a first level Intermediate Accounting course:

Intermediate Financial Accounting Volume 2 by G. Arnold and S. Kyle, developed in collaboration by Athabasca University and Lyryx, is intended for the second of two in Intermediate Financial Accounting courses. It presumes that students have already completed the Introductory Financial Accounting, and the first Intermediate Financing Accounting course. The textbook reflects both current International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) and ASPE.

Introduction to Financial Accounting, originally by D. Annand and H. Dauderis, is intended for a first course in introductory financial accounting. It has been extensively edited by Athabasca University and reflects current International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS). A corporate approach is utilized versus beginning with a sole proprietorship emphasis and then converting to a corporate approach. The textbook focuses on core introductory financial accounting topics that match pre-requisite requirements for students advancing to Intermediate Financial Accounting. Excluded are advanced topics that are covered in Intermediate Financial Accounting, such as leases and bond amortization.

Principles of Accounting is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a two-semester accounting course that covers the fundamentals of financial and managerial accounting. This book is specifically designed to appeal to both accounting and non-accounting majors, exposing students to the core concepts of accounting in familiar ways to build a strong foundation that can be applied across business fields. Each chapter opens with a relatable real-life scenario for today’s college student. Thoughtfully designed examples are presented throughout each chapter, allowing students to build on emerging accounting knowledge. Concepts are further reinforced through applicable connections to more detailed business processes. Students are immersed in the “why” as well as the “how” aspects of accounting in order to reinforce concepts and promote comprehension over rote memorization.

This book uses a balanced blend of frameworks and illustrations to teach you how to tackle the challenge of driving performance into the future. Kim Warren takes special care with this new textbook, Building Strategy and Performance, to ensure that it delivers instruction on how to deliver strategy powerfully over a sustained period of time. This book helps you to show your students where the levers are that they can control and how to choose what to do, when, and how much to achieve their specific goals. This book effectively outlines the dynamics of strategy, how one drives performance - past, today and into the future.

This text starts with a solid foundation in written communication with several opportunities to both review the fundamentals as well as to demonstrate mastery and move on to more challenging assignments. Our students are sometimes learning English as they enter a business program and benefit from the attention to the basics. At the same time this course often articulates as a course-equivalent for English or fulfills a writing requirement for a degree program.

Business Communication for Success provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor.

Customer centricity is about organizational transformation making the customer the focus for business decisions, processes, product development, services, and procedures. Some companies purport to be customer centric but they fall short in connecting this concept throughout all functional areas of the business. While it is important to offer superb customer service, being customer centric is far more than that. It's about mapping the customer journey to discover customer needs and wants, what's working and what is not, then taking action to improve the customer experience.

This book provides business leaders with the tools and knowledge needed to effectively enable digital accessibility in an organization through cultural change, raising awareness of its importance, and equipping employees with the specific tools and knowledge they need to address digital accessibility as part of their everyday work.

This book is written both for practitioners and business students. Managers wishing to understand how electronic commerce is revolutionizing business will find that our comprehensive coverage of essential business issues (e.g., pricing and distribution) answers many of their questions. Advanced business students (junior, seniors, and graduate students) will find that the blend of academic structure and practical examples provides an engaging formula for learning.

This textbook is intended for use in introductory Entrepreneurship classes at the undergraduate level. Due to the wide range of audiences and course approaches, the book is designed to be as flexible as possible. Theoretical and practical aspects are presented in a balanced manner, and specific components such as the business plan are provided in multiple formats. Entrepreneurship aims to drive students toward active participation in entrepreneurial roles, and exposes them to a wide range of companies and scenarios.

The goal of this textbook is simple: introduce students to business in an exciting way. Exploring Business is adapted from a work produced and distributed under a Creative Commons license (CC BY-NC-SA) in 2010 by a publisher who has requested that they and the original author not receive attribution.

This book is intended to serve as a no-cost, faculty customizable primary text for one-semester undergraduate introductory business courses. It covers the following topics in business: Teamwork; economics; ethics; entrepreneurship; business ownership, management, and leadership; organizational structures and operations management; human resources and motivating employees; managing in labor union contexts; marketing and pricing strategy; hospitality and tourism, accounting and finance, and personal finances.

The globalization of the competitive landscape has forced companies to fundamentally rethink their strategies. Whereas once only a few industries such as oil could be labeled truly global, today many—from pharmaceuticals to aircraft to computers—have become global in scale and scope. As a consequence, creating a global competitive advantage has become a key strategic issue for many companies, and students need to possess an understanding of the impact of global strategies on a business.

International Business is one of the most challenging and exciting courses to teach in the Business School. To teach a current, dynamic and complete course you need a textbook by authors as passionate and informed about International Business as you are.

This Introduction to Business course develops students’ understanding of business fundamentals with learning design structured around timely, real-world case studies and examples. Key topics include the role of business, the global economic and legal environment, ethics, marketing, accounting and finance, and managing processes and operations. Enriched OER content (text, video, simulations, etc.) orients students to the shifting business landscape and prepares them for success in business program curriculum and the workplace.

This text covers the scope and sequence of most introductory business courses. The book provides detailed explanations in the context of core themes such as customer satisfaction, ethics, entrepreneurship, global business, and managing change. Introduction to Business includes hundreds of current business examples from a range of industries and geographic locations, which feature a variety of individuals.

This text is a compilation resource for instructors of workplace writing and oral presentations. The activities in this book can add value and energy to the classroom by engaging students in activities that support their learning. Handouts, links, activity variations, and debrief questions are included.

This book is designed to help you internalize the basics of money and banking. There is a little math, some graphs, and some sophisticated vocabulary, but nothing terribly difficult, if you put your brain to it. The text’s most important goal is to get you to think for yourselves.

This book is for those whose financial management focus is on small businesses. For you, we adapt the traditional financial management themes emphasized in corporate financial management courses to meet the needs of small businesses.

Financial Strategy for Public Managers is a new generation textbook for financial management in the public sector. It offers a thorough, applied, and concise introduction to the essential financial concepts and analytical tools that today’s effective public servants need to know.

Traditionally, intermediate-level international economics texts seem to fall into one of two categories. Some are written for students who may one day continue on in an economics PhD program. These texts develop advanced general equilibrium models and use sophisticated mathematics. However, these texts are also very difficult for the average, non-PhD-bound student to understand. Other intermediate texts are written for non-economics majors who may take only a few economics courses in their program.

Financial Analysis, by and large, incorporates Accounting concepts. Thus, it is imperative that the analyst understand the numbers, which s/he will utilize in his/her analysis. This text exposes the reader to the many shortcomings in reading Financial Statements. No prior knowledge of Accounting is assumed.

Welcome! This is the companion textbook for BUS-123, Introduction to Investments, at Southwestern Community College in Chula Vista, California USA. All the course material is freely available on the class website. (wonderprofessor.com/123) We wish you the best of luck and success in your investments and in this grand adventure that we call life!

Designed to meet the scope and sequence of your course, Principles of Finance provides a strong foundation in financial applications using an innovative use-case approach to explore their role in business decision-making. An array of financial calculator and downloadable Microsoft Excel data exercises also engage students in experiential learning throughout.

This book is intended for the Risk Management and Insurance course where Risk Management is emphasized. Risk management will be a major focal point of business and societal decision—making in the 21st century. A separate focused field of study, it draws on core knowledge bases from law, engineering, finance, economics, medicine, psychology, accounting, mathematics, statistics and other fields to create a holistic decision-making framework that is sustainable and value- enhancing.

This text teaches HRM strategies and theories that any manager—not just those in HR—needs to know about recruiting, selecting, training, and compensating people. This text also provides practical applications of theory relevant to today's workplace. You won't find discussions about “posting vacancies on a job board” or “sending memos.” In the real world, HRM leverages technology in every aspect of the job—from online training modules to technology for better managing flex-time workers and telecommuters.

This OER contains problem-based, teaching scenarios for instructors to use as they seek to develop the ability of students to critically think about employment, ethical, and legal situations that can occur in the workplace. As organizations seek to achieve their diversity, equity, and inclusion efforts, difficult situations and conversations may occur between workers.

This text offers an alternative to the traditional approach by focusing on building the change capacity of the entire organization in anticipation of future pressures to change. Based on systematic research of more than 5,000 respondents working within more than 200 organization or organizational units conducted during the previous decade, this book offers a clear and proven method for diagnosing your organizational change capacity. While building organizational change capacity is not fast or easy, it is essential for effective leadership and organizational survival in the 21st century.

Information Systems: A Manager’s Guide to Harnessing Technology is intended for use in undergraduate and/or graduate courses in Management Information Systems and Information Technology.

The purpose of Leading With Cultural Intelligence by Mia Moua is to outline the important ideas of cultural intelligence and the steps that must be considered and then practiced to become a culturally intelligent leader. The most important aspect covered within this book is that cultural intelligence is both a strategy and a tool towards cultural competency and proficiency. This book outlines the importance of understanding culture and its impact on organizations, the strategic value of cultural intelligence, and the significance of integrating and practicing cultural intelligence in everyday business life.

Teaching the strategic management course can be a challenge for many professors. In most business schools, strategic management is a “capstone” course that requires students to draw on insights from various functional courses they have completed (such as marketing, finance, and accounting) in order to understand how top executives make the strategic decisions that drive whether organizations succeed or fail.

This text aligns to introductory courses in Organizational Behavior. The text presents the theory, concepts, and applications with particular emphasis on the impact that individuals and groups can have on organizational performance and culture. An array of recurring features engages students in entrepreneurial thinking, managing change, using tools/technology, and responsible management.

Principles of Management teaches management principles to tomorrow’s business leaders by weaving three threads through every chapter: strategy, entrepreneurship and active leadership.

This Introduction to Business course develops students’ understanding of business fundamentals with learning design structured around timely, real-world case studies and examples. Key topics include the role of business, the global economic and legal environment, ethics, marketing, accounting and finance, and managing processes and operations.

This book is meant to complement a course in strategic management composed primarily of a simulation game and cases. The book is distinctive in its coverage of strategy implementation from a psychologist's point of view. Coverage of strategy formulation is basic, to encourage students to invest time and effort in the game and cases. Even so, this book neither includes nor recommends any particular game, nor does it include or recommend a particular set of cases.

People have been undertaking projects since the earliest days of organized human activity. The hunting parties of our prehistoric ancestors were projects. Large complex projects such as the pyramids and the Great Wall of China were also projects. Even something as simple as creating a dinner is considered a project. We use the term “project” frequently in our daily conversations. This book covers the basics of project management. This includes the process of initiation, planning, execution, control, and closeout that all projects share.

In a world that is becoming more virtual, more global, and more complex, the project manager's ability to function in this environment becomes critical to the success of the project. Project Management from Simple to Complex explores project management within this complex, virtual, and global environment.

This book covers the fundamentals of project management, and aims to guide undergraduate and graduate students to acquire the building blocks of project management.

This text offers a unique perspective and set of capabilities for instructors. The authors designed this book with a “less can be more” approach, and by treating small business management as a practical human activity rather than as an abstract theoretical concept.

This textbook can be used for an introductory level International Marketing course. Although the term ‘International Marketing’ has used throughout the book, the content will pretty much be as applicable if they are read in the context of a ‘Global Marketing’ course. Therefore, the textbook can also be used for an introductory level course in ‘Global Marketing’, and I encourage instructors of the undergraduate ‘Global Marketing’ course to adopt this textbook.

The Internet has transformed how businesses conduct their activities and how consumers go about buying products. This textbook aims to provide a way of conceptualizing how to do marketing online and a strategic framework to do so. The first section explains how the Internet has transformed the ways firms have to create value and how consumers experience brands and products. The second section provides an in-depth presentation of a digital marketing framework centered on conversion-based marketing.

The newly updated edition includes chapters on the latest marketing trends as well as updated facts and figures and all new real-world case studies showing the application of digital best practice. The book is structured to enable readers to follow it sequentially and get an overview of how the different elements of digital fit together. It also provides a guide for those who want to dip in and out of chapters or need to brush up on specific areas. We have added a new section, Retain, which speaks to the ongoing evolution and understanding of how digital tools and tactics are best used within a digital marketer’s toolkit.

Through good economic times and bad, marketing remains the pivotal function in any business. Determining and satisfying the needs of customers through products that have value and accessibility and whose features are clearly communicated is the general purpose of any business. It is also a fundamental definition of marketing. This text introduces students to the marketing strategies and tools that practitioners use to market their products.

Launch! Advertising and Promotion is written for advertising and promotion courses taught to students in the business school and journalism & mass communication students.

Principles of Marketing teaches the experience and process of actually doing marketing - not just the vocabulary. It carries five dominant themes throughout in order to expose students to marketing in today's environment: Service dominant logic, sustainability, ethics and social responsibility, global coverage, and metrics.

Designed to teach students the foundational principles of marketing in the digital age, this course uses current case studies and engaging, real-world scenarios to help students recognize and analyze marketing in business as well as in everyday life. The text introduce students to the principles of marketing. Unlike some marketing texts that treat digital marketing as an add-on, these course materials incorporate the use of data, digital communications and digital marketing strategies throughout the course, reflecting modern marketing in practice.

Principles of Marketing is designed to meet the scope and sequence for a one-semester marketing course for undergraduate business majors and minors. Principles of Marketing provides a solid grounding in the core concepts and frameworks of marketing theory and analysis so that business students interested in a major or minor in marketing will also be prepared for more rigorous, upper-level elective courses. Concepts are further reinforced through detailed, diverse, and realistic company and organization scenarios and examples from various industries and geographical locations. To illuminate the meaningful applications and implications of marketing ideas, the book incorporates a modern approach providing connections between topics, solutions, and real-world problems.

The Power of Selling is the perfect textbook to teach students about the proven process of selling. More important, it teaches students how to apply the tenets of selling to how to sell themselves and get the job they want, with the same process professional sales people learn (or brush up) on their own selling skills.