Finding OERs by Discipline

Algebra and Trigonometry provides a comprehensive exploration of algebraic principles and meets scope and sequence requirements for a typical introductory algebra and trigonometry course. The modular approach and the richness of content ensure that the book meets the needs of a variety of courses. Algebra and Trigonometry offers a wealth of examples with detailed, conceptual explanations, building a strong foundation in the material before asking students to apply what they’ve learned.

Arithmetic | Algebra provides a customized open-source textbook for the math developmental students at New York City College of Technology. The book consists of short chapters, addressing essential concepts necessary to successfully proceed to credit-level math courses. Each chapter provides several solved examples and one unsolved “Exit Problem”. Each chapter is also supplemented by its own WeBWork online homework assignment.

Traditionally, the study of algebra is separated into a two parts, elementary algebra and intermediate algebra. This textbook is the first part, written in a clear and concise manner, making no assumption of prior algebra experience. It carefully guides students from the basics to the more advanced techniques required to be successful in the next course.

College Algebra provides a comprehensive exploration of algebraic principles and meets scope and sequence requirements for a typical introductory algebra course. The modular approach and richness of content ensure that the book meets the needs of a variety of courses. College Algebra offers a wealth of examples with detailed, conceptual explanations, building a strong foundation in the material before asking students to apply what they’ve learned.

This College Algebra text will cover a combination of classical algebra and analytic geometry, with an introduction to the transcendental exponential and logarithmic functions. If mathematics is the language of science, then algebra is the grammar of that language. Like grammar, algebra provides a structure to mathematical notation, in addition to its uses in problem solving and its ability to change the appearance of an expression without changing the value.

This text is intended for a brief introductory course in plane geometry. It covers the topics from elementary geometry that are most likely to be required for more advanced mathematics courses. The only prerequisite is a semester of algebra. The emphasis is on applying basic geometric principles to the numerical solution of problems.

This book is designed for a semester-long course in Foundations of Geometry and meant to be rigorous, conservative, elementary and minimalistic.

This textbook is used by the Department of Mathematics at College of the Redwoods in Eureka, California for instructional purposes in their Math 120 course, Intermediate Algebra. This text was written by the department specifically for use in Math 120.

Intermediate Algebra is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester Intermediate algebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text expands on the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. Each topic builds upon previously developed material to demonstrate the cohesiveness and structure of mathematics.

There have been many books written and good textbooks are available that cover the material of this course. Unfortunately, books that go deeply enough to develop the subject well assume a year of study, a semester is not sufficient especially for students with weak backgrounds. The standard approach is to develop more results of advanced Euclidean geometry first and to eventually back up and go into hyperbolic geometry. In order to get where we need to get, we will not formally develop some of the advanced Euclidean results that are logically needed because we would never get to the "modern" part of the course’s name. We will come back and develop, or at least introduce conceptually, some of these when we need them late in the course. Considerable compromise with mathematical formality will be sacrificed in order to meet this goal but not the idea of mathematical proof itself.

This text addresses the fundamentals of arithmetic operations with signed number, including fractions and decimals as well as an introduction to signed numbers, including fractions and decimals as an introduction to some elementary topics in beginning algebra. Topics also include ratios and proportions, perfect squares and their square roots, elementary topics in geometry, systems of measurement, and monomial arithmetic. Students basic skills necessary for success in mathematics courses.

Prealgebra is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for a one-semester prealgebra course. The text introduces the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. Each topic builds upon previously developed material to demonstrate the cohesiveness and structure of mathematics.

This text was written as a prequel to the APEXCalculus series, a three–volume series on Calculus. This text is not intended to fully prepare students with all of the mathematical knowledge they need to tackle Calculus, rather it is designed to review mathematical concepts that are often stumbling blocks in the Calculus sequence. It starts basic and builds to more complex topics. This text is written so that each section and topic largely stands on its own, making it a good resource for students in Calculus who are struggling with the supporting mathemathics found in Calculus courses.

An openly licensed applied calculus textbook, covering derivatives, integrals, and an intro to multivariable calculus. This book is heavily remixed from Dale Hoffman's Contemporary Calculus textbook, and retains the same conceptual focus from that text.

This general calculus book covers a fairly standard course sequence: single variable calculus, infinite series, and multivariable calculus.

This Textmap guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them.

This textbook covers single variable Differential Calculus. This text is a merger of the CLP Differential Calculus textbook and problembook.

This textbook covers single variable Integral Calculus.

Calculus arose as a tool for solving practical scientific problems through the centuries. However, it is often taught as a technical subject with rules and formulas (and occasionally theorems), devoid of its connection to applications. In this course, the applications form an important focal point, with emphasis on life sciences. This places the techniques and concepts into practical context, as well as motivating quantitative approaches to biology taught to undergraduates. While many of the examples have a biological flavor, the level of biology needed to understand those examples is kept at a minimum.

This is a text on elementary trigonometry, designed for students who have completed courses in high-school algebra and geometry. Though designed for college students, it could also be used in high schools. The traditional topics are covered, but a more geometrical approach is taken than usual. Also, some numerical methods (e.g. the secant method for solving trigonometric equations) are discussed.

The precursors to what we study today as Trigonometry had their origin in ancient Mesopotamia, Greece and India. These cultures used the concepts of angles and lengths as an aid to understanding the movements of the heavenly bodies in the night sky. Ancient trigonometry typically used angles and triangles that were embedded in circles so that many of the calculations used were based on the lengths of chords within a circle. The relationships between the lengths of the chords and other lines drawn within a circle and the measure of the corresponding central angle represent the foundation of trigonometry - the relationship between angles and distances.

Precalculus: An Investigation of Functions is a free, open textbook covering a two-quarter pre-calculus sequence including trigonometry. The first portion of the book is an investigation of functions, exploring the graphical behavior of, interpretation of, and solutions to problems involving linear, polynomial, rational, exponential, and logarithmic functions. An emphasis is placed on modeling and interpretation, as well as the important characteristics needed in calculus.

This precalculus textmap is intended for college-level Precalculus students and is a comprehensive book that covers more ground than an instructor could likely cover in a typical one- or two-semester course; but instructors should find, almost without fail, that the topics they wish to include in their syllabus are covered in the text.

This text covers the content of a standard trigonometry course, beginning with a review of facts from geometry.

This text is an introduction to calculus based on the hyperreal number system and uses infinitesimal and infinite numbers freely. Just as most beginning calculus books provide no logical justification for the real number system, none are provided for the hyperreals. The text is aimed primarily at readers who already have some familiarity with calculus.

The goal in that class is to teach biology students how to choose the appropriate statistical test for a particular experiment, then apply that test and interpret the results. In my class and in this textbook, I spend relatively little time on the mathematical basis of the tests; for most biologists, statistics is just a useful tool, like a microscope, and knowing the detailed mathematical basis of a statistical test is as unimportant to most biologists as knowing which kinds of glass were used to make a microscope lens.

This book starts by presenting an overview of the statistical thought process. By the end of chapter 2, students are already familiar with concepts such as hypotheses, level of significance, p-values, errors. Normally these topics are not introduced until after a discussion of probability and sampling distributions. My approach to probability and sampling distributions is also very different. Because students using this book know about hypotheses before we reach the probability section, inferential theory can be developed by applying the probability rules the testing of a hypothesis. To me, this leads to better and more interesting questions than are typically asked in these sections and gives meaning to these concepts.

Holistic or Eastern tradition analysis is less concerned with the component parts of a problem, mechanism or phenomenon but rather with how this system operates as a whole, including its surrounding environment. For example, a holistic nutritionist would look at the potato in its environment: when it was eaten, with what other foods it was eaten, how it was grown, or how it was prepared. In holism, the potato is much more than the sum of its parts. I believe it is possible to teach the concept of Inferential Statistics holistically. This course material is a result of that inspiration, and it was designed to supplement, not replace, a traditional course textbook or workbook.

We are constantly bombarded by information, and finding a way to filter that information in an objective way is crucial to surviving this onslaught with your sanity intact. This is what statistics, and logic we use in it, enables us to do. Through the lens of statistics, we learn to find the signal hidden in the noise when it is there and to know when an apparent trend or pattern is really just randomness. The study of statistics involves math and relies upon calculations of numbers. But it also relies heavily on how the numbers are chosen and how the statistics are interpreted.

ntroductory Business Statistics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the one-semester statistics course for business, economics, and related majors. Core statistical concepts and skills have been augmented with practical business examples, scenarios, and exercises. The result is a meaningful understanding of the discipline, which will serve students in their business careers and real-world experiences.

This text is designed for an introductory probability course taken by sophomores, juniors, and seniors in mathematics, the physical and social sciences, engineering, and computer science. It presents a thorough treatment of probability ideas and techniques necessary for a firm understanding of the subject. The text can be used in a variety of course lengths, levels, and areas of emphasis.

Statistics is the study of the collection, analysis, interpretation, presentation, and organization of data. In applying statistics to, e.g., a scientific, industrial, or societal problem, it is conventional to begin with a statistical population or a statistical model process to be studied.

Introductory Statistics covers major topics in statistics including descriptive statistics, probability, confidence intervals, t-tests, statistical graphs, power, complex ANOVA designs, and multiple regression in an easy-to-understand non-mathematical manner. Features include interactive self-testing exercises, an extensive glossary (with links from the text), and the option to view video presentations. Statistical concepts are explained using examples from real research. A statistical literacy section is included in each chapter. This book is designed for introductory college and AP statistics courses and has been approved by the American Institute of Mathematics.

This text follows scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester introduction to statistics course and is geared toward students majoring in fields other than math or engineering. The text assumes some knowledge of intermediate algebra and focuses on statistics application over theory. Introductory Statistics includes innovative practical applications that make the text relevant and accessible, as well as collaborative exercises, technology integration problems, and statistics labs.

The focus of this book is on using quantitative research methods to test hypotheses and build theory in political science, public policy and public administration. It is designed for advanced undergraduate courses, or introductory and intermediate graduate-level courses. The first part of the book introduces the scientific method, then covers research design, measurement, descriptive statistics, probability, inference, and basic measures of association. The second part of the book covers bivariate and multiple linear regression using the ordinary least squares, the calculus and matrix algebra that are necessary for understanding bivariate and multiple linear regression, the assumptions that underlie these methods, and then provides a short introduction to generalized linear models.

Statistics Done Wrong is a guide to the most popular statistical errors and slip-ups committed by scientists every day, in the lab and in peer-reviewed journals. Many of the errors are prevalent in vast swaths of the published literature, casting doubt on the findings of thousands of papers. Statistics Done Wrong assumes no prior knowledge of statistics, so you can read it before your first statistics course or after thirty years of scientific practice.

These dynamic figures were created using CalcPlot3D for use in textbooks on the LibreTexts platform. These figures are available to remix into any custom textbook (typically using the Content reuse option on the Elements menu of the page editor).

These dynamic figures were created using GeoGebra for use on the LibreTexts platform. These figures are available to remix into any custom textbook.

The LibreTexts worksheets are documents with questions or exercises for students to complete and record answers and are intended to help a student become proficient in a particular skill that was taught to them in class.