Finding OERs by Discipline

This textbook was written for a community college introductory course in spreadsheets utilizing Microsoft Excel. While the figures shown utilize Excel 2019, the textbook was written to be applicable to other versions of Excel as well. The book introduces new users to the basics of spreadsheets and is appropriate for students in any major who have not used Excel before.

Information technology is the use of computers to store, retrieve, transmit, and manipulate data or information. The field is typically used within the context of business operations as opposed to personal or entertainment technologies. An information technology system is generally an information system, a communications system or, more specifically speaking, a computer system – including all hardware, software and peripheral equipment – operated by a limited group of users. There is overlap in materials with this section and the Computer Science section of the Engineering Library.

Covers the basics of computer hardware, software, and networking and helps students develop basic skills in using Windows and Microsoft Office, and creating web pages. Students also learn how to use computers safely, and to consider ethical issues related to computer usage.

Word Processing Essentials is a collection of modules to teach or refresh skills for Microsoft Word. The intended audience is anyone needing to create a simple term or research paper for a high school or college course. The collection was designed by Kenneth Leroy Busbee; however the modules in the collection were authored by students enrolled in a BCIS1405 – Business Computer Applications course at the Community College of Qatar (CCQ) during the Fall 2010 term.

This text is designed to help students get a feel for what a career in Management Information Systems (MIS) would be like. Our students report that they learn more about information systems from their internships than from their IS courses. Consequently, we designed a course that looks very much like an internship—an introduction to the field followed by a substantial project.

This book serves as a guide or tutorial to the Python programming language. It is mainly targeted at newbies. It is useful for experienced programmers as well. The aim is that if all you know about computers is how to save text files, then you can learn Python from this book. If you have previous programming experience, then you can also learn Python from this book.

This is a new open textbook version of the material mentioned above. Applied Discrete Structures is designed for use in a university course in discrete mathematics spanning up to two semesters. Its original design was for computer science majors to be introduced to the mathematical topics that are useful in computer science. It can also serve the same purpose for mathematics majors, providing a first exposure to many essential topics.

This is part of MIT’s OpenCourseWare website. It includes a course syllabus, reading list, lecture videos, Powerpoint slides and code, in-class questions and video questions as well as assignments – all available for download. The course is intended for students with little or no programming experience. It aims to provide students with an understanding of the role computation can play in solving problems and to help students, regardless of their major, feel justifiably confident of their ability to write small programs that allow them to accomplish useful goals. The class uses the Python 3.5 programming language.

This book was written to introduce students to assembly language programming in MIPS. As with all assembly language programming texts, it covers basic operators and instructions, subprogram calling, loading and storing memory, program control, and the conversion of the assembly language program into machine code.

This resource is a well-written text that covers the material quite well. It is a bit older than other material, but it is still a very valid resource. The main website has some other variations of this text. It is intended to teach the design and analysis of basic data structures and their implementation in an object-oriented language. In this edition, the language happens to be C++. This book is not intended to act as an introduction to the C++ programming language.

Digital accessibility skills are in high demand, as the world becomes more aware of barriers in digital content that prevent some people from participating in a digital society. These are essential skills for web developers, and essential knowledge for organizations that want to ensure their web content is reaching the broadest audience possible.

An excellent book on introductory computer programming topics. The book’s website has a great deal of additional information and resources. The book itself has great vocabulary words, it has exercises, and includes the use of Jupyter Notebooks, where you can edit and run code right in the LMS environment. The material has been translated into several different languages, see the book’s website for a complete list.

Think Python is an introduction to Python programming for beginners. It starts with basic concepts of programming and is carefully designed to define all terms when they are first used and to develop each new concept in a logical progression. Larger pieces, like recursion and object-oriented programming, are divided into a sequence of smaller steps and introduced over the course of several chapters.

Web Accessibility for Developers is a technical resource aimed primarily at programmers. Learn how to develop accessible interactivity on the Web and gain expertise using WAI-ARIA, a W3C specification that enables optimal use of assistive technologies, like screen readers, when navigating the Web.

This text introduces students to Advanced Computer Organization and Architecture. Where architecture is a term used to describe the attributes of a system as seen by the programmer. Its concerned with designs and operations of a computer. Computer organization is the way the system is structured so that all those cataloged tools can be used, and that in an efficient fashion. This text has its emphasis on system design and performance.

An open-source course sponsored, published, and made available to instructors for their free use by CyberWatch West.

This course instructs students in the preservation, identification, extraction, documentation and interpretation of computer data. Students will learn to examine computer data for evidence of a crime or violations of corporate policy. Topics covered include evidence handling, chain of custody, collection, and recovery of computer data using forensic software and methods.

The Information Systems field studies systems with a specific reference to information and the complementary networks of computer hardware and software that people and organizations use to collect, filter, process, create and also distribute data. An emphasis is placed on an information system having a definitive boundary, users, processors, storage, inputs, outputs and the aforementioned communication networks.

Welcome to Information Systems for Business and Beyond. In this book, you will be introduced to the concept of information systems, their use in business, and the larger impact they are having on our world.

This course continues the basic principles of network security. Topics include physical security, forensics, legal issues, privacy, cyber attacks, baselines, and secure software development. Note: This is the second of three related courses (LAN153AA IT Security Essentials: Roles, Risk & Change Management, and Organization Policies, LAN153AB IT Security Essentials: Physical security, Forensics, Legal & Privacy Issues, Secure Software Development, and LAN153AC IT Security Essentials: Messaging, Web Components, Access, Authentication, and Cryptography). This set of courses is designed to prepare the successful student for the CompTIA Security+ certification.

This text covers the standard topics in a sophomore-level course in discrete mathematics: logic, sets, proof techniques, basic number theory, functions, relations, and elementary combinatorics, with an emphasis on motivation. It explains and clarifies the unwritten conventions in mathematics, and guides the students through a detailed discussion on how a proof is revised from its draft to a final polished form. Hands-on exercises help students understand a concept soon after learning it. The text adopts a spiral approach: many topics are revisited multiple times, sometimes from a different perspective or at a higher level of complexity. The goal is to slowly develop students’ problem-solving and writing skills.