Finding OERs by Discipline

This resource provides historical material that offers context for African American experiences, ranging from African heritage to the days following the end of legalized chattel slavery in the United States in the Reconstruction era.

Thirteen Chicanx scholars draw upon their personal experiences and expertise to paint a vivid, colorful portrait of what it means to be Chicanx, including political experiences, bicultural education, and history. The book provides a detailed account and definition of the Chicano Movement in 1979.

The contents of this online book were created by Prof. Rick Bonus and his students as a final project for a course on “Critical Filipinx American Histories” in the Fall quarter of 2019 at the University of Washington, Seattle campus. In collaboration with the UW Libraries, the UW Burke Museum, and the UW Department of American Ethnic Studies, this book explores and reflects on the relationships between Filipinx American histories and selected artifacts at the Burke Museum. It is a class project that was made possible by the Allen Open Textbook Grant.

ECHO is a handbook that provides the most current research pertaining to Yukon First Nations peoples. Topics include archaeology, ethnology, lifeways, relationships with newcomers (in the past and currently), the arts, and modern-day land claims. The volume also includes interviews with research collaborators who discuss the importance of community-based research.

This OER examines food sovereignty and food experiences in Haudenosaunee communities to explore ways of upholding our Haudenosaunee responsibilities to the land and enhancing the local practice of food sovereignty. Research findings revealed that local education about food sovereignty, Indigenous foods, and practices must be achieved to promote these concepts in the lives of Six Nations of the Grand River community members.

Laying Canadian stories alongside the global phenomenon of femicide in other colonized countries such as Mexico and Guatemala, this book underscores the common, interlocking effects of racism and sexism on Indigenous women. Family members, scholars and researchers, artists, activists, and policy-makers provide their decade-long perspectives, providing testimony and evidence that sexualized and racialized violence is not only a product of historic colonization but continues to manifest in entrenched systems of colonization and global femicide.

This text is ideal for an Introduction to Ethnic Studies course. It examines the development of Ethnic Studies as an interdisciplinary area of study to provide relevant education centering narratives, philosophies, histories, and cultures of Black Indigenous People of Color, while countering eurocentrism and white supremacy. The four core disciplines Africana/African American/Black Studies, Asian American and Pacific Islander Studies, Chicanx/Latinx Studies, and American Indian/Native American Studies are a primary focus as well as intersectionality, the racial wealth gap, policing and state sanctioned violence, resistance and solidarity.

This is a copyrighted, open-access textbook. This open-access textbook explores multiple forms of media and unpacks the relationship between media and identity, history, and culture in the context of Latinx communities.

New Directions in Chicanx and Latinx Studies is an open educational resource that is free for instructors and students in a digital format. This comprehensive, peer-reviewed introductory textbook is written by scholars from the California Community Colleges and California State University. The content, spanning ten chapters, is guided by intersectional, transnational, and relational frameworks that build on current and emergent work in Chicanx and Latinx Studies.

This book is an introduction or primer to ethnic studies and is not a complete or comprehensive review of the literature. We identified and included major concepts, theories, perspectives, and voices in ethnic studies with research from anthropology, history, political science, psychology, and sociology to offer an inclusive approach for critical inquiry. The content was reviewed by our peers using the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges Open Educational Resources Initiative Evaluation Rubric and Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Anti-Racism (IDEA) Audit Framework. The manuscript is openly licensed to offer our readers the opportunity to revise, remix, redistribute, reuse, retain, and expand the literature to fit learning needs. We encourage you to think about and consider your own family history, stories, and traditions as you explore and build on this content.

The Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre (SRSC), holds letter books of the first principal of the Shingwauk Residential School, Rev. Edward F. Wilson, and the fourth principal Rev. George L. King. The letters range in date from 1875-1904 and include a wealth of information about the early history of Shingwauk and Wawanosh.

This text gives instructors, students, and general readers a comprehensive and up-to-date account of African Americans’ cultural and political history, economic development, artistic expressiveness, and religious and philosophical worldviews in a critical framework.

This seminar examines various issues related to the intersection of race and gender in Asian America, starting with the nineteenth century, but focusing on contemporary issues. Topics covered include racial and gender discourse, the stereotyping of Asian American women and men in the media, Asian American masculinity, Asian American feminisms and their relation to mainstream American feminism, the debate between feminism and ethnic nationalism, gay and lesbian identity, class and labor issues, domestic violence, interracial dating and marriage, and multiracial identity.

Collections include primary sources, newspaper coverage, photos, protest signs, and TV coverage of the San Francisco State College Strike for Ethnic Studies in 1968-1969.