Finding OERs by Discipline

Critical thinking is a series learned skills. In each chapter of this book you will find a variety of skills that will help you improve your thinking and argumentative ability. As you improve, you will grow into a more confident person being more in charge of your world and the decisions you make.

Communicating to Connect: Interpersonal Communication for Today introduces an undergraduate to a whole new world of concepts with an in-depth exploration of interpersonal communication. Theory and research that reflect what is currently known about interpersonal communication complement practical skills explaining why course concepts are important in an undergraduate’s everyday life. The narrative voice and culturally diverse examples, as well as relevant pictures, charts, graphs, videos, and multimedia enhance reading comprehension. In 13 units, this easy-to-navigate OER (Open Educational Resource) promotes the study of interpersonal communication to the world in the most accessible way possible. Ancillary materials are available upon request to support student learning and instructional planning.

Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies overviews the time-tested conceptual foundations of the field, while incorporating the latest research and cutting-edge applications of these basics. Each chapter will include timely, concrete, and real-life examples of communication concepts in action.

Interpersonal communication in health and social care services is by its nature diverse. As a consequence, achieving good or effective communication whether between service providers and service users, or among those working in a service means taking account of diversity, rather than assuming that every interaction will be the same. This text explores the ways in which difference and diversity impact on the nature of communication in health and social care services.

nterpersonal Communication: A Mindful Approach to Relationships helps readers examine their own one-on-one communicative interactions using a mindfulness lens. The writing team of Jason S. Wrench, Narissra M. Punyanunt-Carter, and Katherine Thweatt incorporates the latest communication theory and research to help students navigate everyday interpersonal interactions. The 14 chapters in this book cover topics typically taught in an undergraduate interpersonal communication course: family interactions, interpersonal dynamics, language, listening, nonverbal communication, and romantic relationships, as well as exploring emerging areas such as self-compassion, body positivity, friendships, and “the dark side”. The writing takes on a purposefully informal tone to engage readers.

Interpersonal Communication: Context and Connection provides an engaging overview of interpersonal communication grounded in theory, research, and practical application, with an eye to the lived experience of college students. The first three chapters provide the foundation of interpersonal communication with an examination of the theoretical and conceptual background of communication, self, and perception. The next section of the book examines unique features of messaging, with an exploration of listening, verbal, and nonverbal communication.

If all cultures developed the ability to communicate, why do we see things so very differently? What purpose did communication serve in a culture? How did some cultures develop ways in which to share and negotiate meaning that my culture did not? Can I truly communicate with someone that doesn’t share my dominant culture? What does competent intercultural communication “look” like? In the quest to explore the multiple facets of intercultural communication, this book is divided into three general areas: foundations, elements, and contexts. The foundations cover the basic principles associated with communication studies and culture. The elements move beyond the basics into self, identities, verbal, and nonverbal process associated with communication and culture. Contexts explore all the different environments such as media, business, and education, in which intercultural communication occurs.

This text covers the basic concepts of communication as they might be taught in a hybrid introductory communication course. The text is kept lean, so faculty could adapt and supplement according to their own preferences. The text also made it flexible by using a structure of modules with sections within them, so faculty could select the parts and the order they want.

This textbook is targeted for Introduction to Human Communication courses that introduce students to the study of Communication. The underlying organization addressed the importance of students to be able to answer the question, “What is Communication Study?” in a way that captures the field of Communication appropriately, as well as an important discipline across colleges and universities.

The text introduces some of the key concepts in intercultural communication as traditionally presented in (North American) courses and textbooks, namely the study of differences between cultures, as represented in the works and theories of Edward Hall (1959) and Geert Hofstede (1980). Common to these approaches is the prominence of context, leading to a view of human interactions as dynamic and changeable, given the complexity of language and culture, as human agents interact with their environments. This aligns with the principal approach used in this textbook, which is broadly ecological, looking at the multiple factors of individuality and context (including but not limited to national origin) that influence intercultural communication.

This book is designed to help us understand the many changes to U.S. journalism and imagine new futures for it – futures in which it can serve as an even more useful tool for promoting a well-functioning society. But, before we can imagine new futures, we must take a step back and examine the institution of U.S. journalism through a critical and in-depth lens. This book aims to offer just that. It provides a conceptual foundation for understanding the development, logic, and practice of journalism in the United States; describes some of the key challenges, tensions, and opportunities it has faced, is facing, and will likely face; and offers guidance to help individuals develop the skills needed engage in impactful journalism.

Based on Mike Caulfield's Web Literacy for Student Fact-Checkers, this is a short handbook for understanding and evaluating information in a networked environment that bombards us with misinformation, opinion, news, satire, memes, and all the feels.

The text addresses all the major concerns, issues, and material that an introductory, freshmen-level public speaking course involves. Beginning with the value of public speaking to one's life and overcoming public speaking anxiety, the subsequent chapters cover listening and audience analysis; plagiarism and ethics; invention and thesis development; research; organization; introductions, conclusions, and transitions; supporting material; delivery; visual aids; language choices; informative speaking; persuasive speaking; logic and fallacies; and special occasion speeches. The book was written with students in the open access college and with diversity in mind.

The definitive text for the information search and evaluation process as practiced by news and strategic communication message producers. Currently used at the University of Minnesota School of Journalism and Mass Communication; JOUR 3004W/V, Information for Mass Communication.

This text offers a practical introduction to the theory and practice of group communication, with an emphasis on real world applications to develop an awareness, understanding, and skills to effectively participate as a productive group member. Through a clear and concise approach to group decision-making and dynamics in teams and leadership, students are presented with the tools needed to create plans, find solutions to problems, produce goods or deliver services, and evaluate their performance through self and peer assessments.

This textbook was created for beginning narrative journalists exploring the craft. It is inspired by the Narrative Journalism course at the University of Michigan-Dearborn, and it is intended to be used as a guide and handbook. It is structured around the five elements of fiction, and provides both instruction and student examples of various narrative journalism projects.

Our purpose in this text is to introduce you to the concepts of strategic public relations. Our basic assumption is that you have some general knowledge of management and business terminology; we will help you to apply that to the discipline of public relations. Our text is based in current research and scholarly knowledge of the public relations discipline as well as years of experience in professional public relations practice.

Tēnā koutou and welcome to Media Studies 101, the open educational resource for media studies studies in New Zealand, Australia, and Pacifica. Communication and media permeate our society. At its most basic level, we can think of communication as the exchange of information or meaning – but what does that mean? When are you not exchanging information or meaning?

This text offers an assortment of virtual tools to help users improve their public speaking skills. A variety of speech professionals who are dedicated to providing free and low cost instructional materials contributed their original work.

Speak Out, Call In: Public Speaking as Advocacy is a contemporary, interdisciplinary public speaking textbook that fuses rhetoric, critical/cultural studies, and performance to offer an up-to-date resource for students. With a focus on advocacy, this textbook invites students to consider public speaking as a political, purposeful form of information-sharing.

Stand up, Speak out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speaking features two key themes. First it focuses on helping students become more seasoned and polished public speakers, and second is its emphasis on ethics in communication. It is this practical approach and integrated ethical coverage that sets Stand up, Speak out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speaking apart from the other texts in this market. This adapted edition is produced by the University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing through the eLearning Support Initiative.

This course is designed to familiarize you with the major theory and research surrounding the study of small group communication and provide an opportunity to analyze and develop solutions to a community problem while working in a small group.

This course will introduce you to communication principles, common communication practices, and a selection of theories to better understand the communication transactions that you experience in your daily life. The principles and practices that you study in this course will provide the foundation for further study in communications. The course has ancillaries and supplemental readings. Excluding course final exams, content authored for Saylor Academy’s Principles of Human Communication is available under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unsupported license. A complete list of terms of use is available.

“Communicating Across Cultures” is designed to help you meet the challenges of living in a world in which, increasingly, you will be asked to interact with people who may not be like you in fundamental ways. Its primary goals are to help you become more sensitive to intercultural communication differences and to provide you with the knowledge and skills that will help you interact successfully with people from cultures other than your own.

This course was developed as part of an Affordable Learning Georgia Textbook Transformation Grant awarded to two faculty members at Valdosta State University. The course includes units on critical thinking, arguments, fallacies, symbolic logic, syllogisms, research, and law. It also includes an instructor’s guide and lesson planning.

Principles of Public Speaking covers all of the basics of public speaking in bite-sized modules which can be adapted in part or whole. The modules include objectives, videos, assignments, and more. The courseware includes resources copyrighted and openly licensed by multiple individuals and organizations.

Each of the three modules in this series introducing the Little Red Schoolhouse principles aims to do several things: (1) Present an overview of the Little Red Schoolhouse method; (2) Review key LRS topics and terminology; (3) Examine one aspect of the writing and editing process more closely, working through selected examples.