LibGuides: Guided Pathways: School of Humanities, Education, Social and Behavioral Sciences

About

The School of Humanities, Education, Social Sciences and Behavioral Sciences offers students an opportunity to study the histories, politics, geographies, belief systems, economics and cultures of communities and the complex social issues affecting them. Students gain the knowledge needed to offer solutions and to confront social and behavioral situations in fields like anthropology, early childhood education, history, philosophy, political science, psychology and sociology. For more information about the School of Humanities, Education, Social Sciences and Behavioral Sciences, please visit the campus site at https://www.mvc.edu/academics/schools/humanities-education-social-behavioral-sciences/.

FACULTY: To add this page to your Canvas course, in Canvas Commons, search for 'School of Humanities Education Social and Behavioral Sciences.'

Find Books/eBooks

Known as a discovery layer, OneSearch can help you search for books, eBooks, articles, videos, images, periodicals and more in a single search.

eBook Collection - formerly NetLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access digital full text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction. Includes publicly-accessible titles.

Find Articles

Humanities, Education, and Social or Behavioral Science

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary research database that offers access to thousands of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other publications across a broad range of academic subjects. It provides full-text articles and abstracts, making it a valuable resource for students and researchers that are looking for credible and comprehensive sources.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database offering access to thousands of scholarly journals, magazines, and other sources across subjects like science, social sciences, humanities, and business. It provides full-text articles and abstracts, making it ideal for academic research at various levels.
America's News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive access to current and archived U.S. news sources, including newspapers, newswires, blogs, and broadcast transcripts. It covers local, regional and national perspectives, making it a valuable resource for understanding U.S. events issues, and trends across various time periods. Items like The Press Enterprise can be found through this database.
NOTE: Access to this resource will expire on June 30, 2024.
Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas, including history, science, culture, and current events. There are concise articles and multimedia resources, making it a valuable tool for seeking out reliable information for academic work or general knowledge.
JAMA This link opens in a new window
Some articles are available for free. Some articles may required a subscription or fee to access. The MVC Library does not currently have a subscription to JAMA. Students can check OneSearch to see if specific articles are available through another full text database.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Articles published before 1923 are available for free. Articles published after 1923 require a subscription or fee to access.
JSTOR Essentials Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR Essential collection contains foundational content in the Humanities and Social Sciences with nearly 700 core titles across 45 disciplines. The journals in the Essential Collection serve both basic and advanced research and teaching needs for two- and four-year institutions.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Pro and con arguments for current social, political and scientific issues. Provides facts, references, articles and links to appropriate web sites. The Critical Thinking Module supplements the database with interactive features, audio content and curriculum standards.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 290 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SIRS® Issues Researcher offers only the very best article selections from more than 2,000 international sources. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between of 345+ social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1980-present)
Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
Washington Post (1987-present)
Los Angeles Times (1985-present)
Chicago Tribune (1985-present)

Other Resources

Audiovisual

Films on Demand: Master Academic Package This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Educational films and documentaries, browse by producers (BBC, PBS, HBO, NatGeo, and many more) and subject-specific categories: Humanities and Social Sciences, Business and Economics, Science and Mathematics, Health and Medicine, Technical Education, Family and Consumer Sciences, Careers & Job Search, Guidance and Counseling, Archival Films and Newsreels.

TED Talks
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages. Meanwhile, independently run TEDx events help share ideas in communities around the world.