LibGuides: Guided Pathways: Science

Science Databases

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
With Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source, dental practitioners and researchers now have a definitive place to start and finish their online dental literature research. This revolutionary new database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 230 journals and dozens of monographs. It includes indexing for all dentistry and oral sciences journals commonly purchased by dental schools and other related institutions.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing. This database also includes full text for books, monographs and numerous education-related conference papers.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Includes scholarly, government and general interest titles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and recycling.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from consumer health sources. Covers medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides some full text articles in scholarly/peer-reviewed journals from medical and nursing disciplines.
Lexicomp - Dental This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp is an industry-leading provider of drug information and clinical content for the healthcare industry. We provide the tools necessary to help improve patient safety, ensure compliance, and elevate the quality of care patients receive.
Lexicomp - Medical Funded by a Perkins Grant. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp is an industry-leading provider of drug information and clinical content for the healthcare industry. We provide the tools necessary to help improve patient safety, ensure compliance, and elevate the quality of care patients receive.
Magill's Medical Guide 8th edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magills' Medical Guide is an online version of this critical health reference work. It contains hundreds of articles on a wide range of medical topics.
Medline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides some full text on authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and pre-clinical sciences.
Primal Pictures 3D Real-Time Dentistry/Dental Hygiene This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed for dentists in training or practice, this module features over 100 3D views of head, neck, face, oral and nasal cavities, dentition, individual teeth in 3D and cross section, nerves, larynx and pharynx, sinuses, eye, brain and more. Funded by a Perkins Grant.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers articles on topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology and observational & experimental methods.
STEM Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The STEM Database delivers a comprehensive collection of more than 500 magazines and journals designed to support studies in science, tech, engineering and math subject areas. Disciplines covered include earth, life, physical, medical, mathematics and applied sciences, such as engineering.

Science Websites

California Science Academy: Institute for Biodiversity Science & Sustainability
Based in San Francisco, the Institute for Biodiversity Science and Sustainability is home to more than 100 research scientists and nearly 46 million scientific specimens from around the world—nearly 40,000 of which are alive and on display in the Academy’s Steinhart Aquarium. The Institute also leverages the expertise and efforts of the Academy's aquarium biologists and more than 100 international Research and Field Associates and 450 distinguished Fellows.
Science News
For almost a century, Science News journalists have covered advances in science, medicine and technology for the general public, including the 1925 Scopes “monkey” trial, the advent of the atomic age in 1945, the space race, and the revolution of genetic engineering from the discovery of DNA to today’s gene-editing technology.
Scientific American
Scientific American covers the advances in research and discovery that are changing our understanding of the world and shaping our lives. Founded 1845, it is the oldest continuously published magazine in the United States and now reaches more than 10 million people around the world each month through its website, print and digital editions, newsletters and app. Authoritative, engaging features, news, opinion and multimedia stories from journalists and expert authors—including more than 200 Nobel Prize winners—provide need-to-know coverage, insights and illumination of the most important developments at the intersection of science and society.