A - Z list of states - Online Historical Newspapers - LibGuides at Moreno Valley College

Alabama

The Alabama Citizen (October 11, 1913 - August 10, 1918)
166 issues
Assorted Birmingham Newspaper Clippings (1892-2004)
Excerpts only. This seems to be a digitized selected 'clippings file' meant to support research into the history of Birmingham.
The Avondale Sun (1924-2006)
Newspaper published by Avondale Mills (Birmingham) for its employees.
Birmingham Iron Age (1874-1901)
This collection contains the Birmingham Iron Age, The Weekly Iron Age, The Weekly Age, and the Pratt City Herald newspapers spanning the years 1874-1901.
Chanticleer (1939-present)
Jacksonville State University student newspaper.
Chronicling America
Memphis Appeal (1857-1876), more forthcoming.
Gadsden Times (1867- 2007)
Jacksonville Republican (1837-1895)
Northeastern Alabama newspaper. Includes link to 143-page PDF file with an index of proper names found in the paper.
Small Town Newspapers (1996-2012)
• Clay News, Pinson (not available)
• The Democrat-Reporter, Linden (2009-12)
• The Florala News, Florala (2009-12)
• The Lamar Democrat and Sulligent News, Vernon (1998-2001, 2011-12)
• The Pinson News & Jefferson Countain, Pinson (available soon)
• Thomasville News, Thomasville (1996-98)
• The Tuskegee News, Tuskegee (2009-12)
Southern Courier (1965-1968)
Weekly newspaper founded to cover the Civil Rights Movement. Complete run.
The Tuscaloosa News (1910-2008)

Alaska

Sitka Sentinel (1940-2010)
• Daily Sitka Sentinel (1940-2010)
• Sitka Sentinel (2008-2008)
Sitka is located in southern Alaska.
Small Town Newspapers (2010-2012)
• Southeast Alaskas Island News, Thorne Bay (2010-2012)
Tundra Times (1965-1997)
Weekly newspaper written by and for Alaskan Natives. Some gaps in coverage.

Arizona

Arizona Historical Digital Newspapers
Supplements Chronicling America by providing access to dates not yet available there.
Arizona Journal-Miner (1903- 1912)
Casa Grande Newspaper Project (1912-2007)
Access to digitized newspapers from Casa Grande city, which is located between Phoenix and Tucson. Originally a primarily rural and agricultural town, it is now a growing suburb.
Chronicling America (1868-1922)
Searchable collection of roughly 50 regional Arizona newspapers.
Glendale Community College Archives (1965-1991)
Student newspaper of Glendale Community College just outside Phoenix; originally called El Tiempo Pasando, and then renamed The College Voice. Each volume available as a PDF; download process is slow.
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press (1855-2004)
The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
• Americas (2001 1987 – 1988)
• Basta Ya! (1970 – 1972)
• La Constitucion (1880 - 1910 Boletin Oficial 1855 – 1876)
• El Coraje (1969)
• Corazon del Aztlan (1981 – 1982)
• La Cronica (1914 – 1917)
• La Estrella Occidente (1855 – 1876)
• El Fronterizo (1882 – ’84; 1887 – ’97; 1904 – ‘08)
• El Fronterizo (1926 – 1929)
• El Hijo de el Fronterizo (1912)
• Hispano America (1918 – 1934)
• El Independiente (1985 – 1986; 1988 – 2004)
• El Mosquito (1919 – 1923; 1925)
• El Paso Morning Times (Spanish) (1914 – 1918)
• El Paso Morning Times (English) (1913 – 1918)
• La Prensa (1970)
• El Pueblo (1968 – 1968)
Kingman Daily Miner (1883- )
Only sporadic issues for the decades prior to the 1970s.
Little Cowpuncher (1934-1943)
"Little Cowpuncher was the name of a mimeographed school newspaper, written and illustrated by Anglo and Mexican-American ranch children ... at five different rural schools in Southern Arizona where Eulalia Bourne was the teacher."
Prescott Courier (1900-1908, 1920-1989)
Bulk 1900-1908 and 1920-1970. Prescott is a town in the mountains about 90 miles north of Phoenix.
Prescott Journal Miner (1912-1920)
Small Town Newspapers (2009-2012)
more...less...
• Ajo Copper News, Ajo (2009-2012)
• Arizona Range News, Willcox (2009-2012)
• The Camp Verde Journal, Camp Verde (2009-2012)
• Copper Basin News, Kearny (2009-2012)
• Cottonwood Journal Extra, Cottonwood (2009-2012)
• San Manuel Miner, San Manuel (2009-2012)
• San Pedro Valley News-Sun, Benson (2009-2012)
• Sedona Red Rock News, Sedona (2009-2012)
• The Superior Sun, Keamy (2009-2012)
Ajo Copper News (January 2, 1975 - April 15, 2009)
466 issues

Arkansas

BAD Times: The Black Americans for Democracy Newspaper (1971-1977)
Gentry Courier Journal (1896-1949)
Small Town Newspapers (2010-12)
DeWitt Era-Enterprise DeWitt, Arkansas (2010-12)

California

Amador Ledger (1900-1911)
Amador County newspaper.
Berkeley Daily Gazette (1912-1947)
California Digital Newspaper Collection (1846-1922)
Includes Amador Ledger, California Star, Californian, Daily Alta California, Imperial Valley Press, Los Angeles Herald (1873-1910), Pacific Rural Press, Placer Times, Sacramento Daily Union, Sacramento Transcript, San Francisco Call (1890-1913), Sausalito News, more.
California Eagle (1879- 1964)
African-American newspaper published in Los Angeles. Scattered issues.
California State Northridge Sundial (1957-1990)
Student newspaper of Cal. State Northridge. A very small sampling of other newspapers from the San Fernando Valley is also included.
Chronicling America (1873-1927)
The Amador Ledger, San Francisco Call, Los Angeles Herald, Imperial Valley Press, and more. Scattered runs.
Chung Sai Yat Po (1900-1904)
Chinese language newspaper published in San Francisco.
Covina Public Library Archives (1895-1999)
Various newspapers and publications from the city of Covina in Los Angeles County. Coverage is spotty after 1967.
East Los Angeles College Campus News (1945-1999)
An archive of the campus newspaper from East Los Angeles College in California.
El Clamor Publico (1855-1859)
"El Clamor Publico was the first Spanish-language newspaper in California after the American occupation. The initially moderate paper evolved into an activist tabloid and espoused strong political views generally in support of the Mexicanos. It was distributed as far north as San Francisco."
Grass Valley Daily Union (1865-1885)
Nevada county newspaper; eventually became simply The Union.
Lodi News-Sentinel (1935-2009)
Lodi is a city located between Stockton and Sacramento in California's Central Valley.
Los Angeles Examiner
The Los Angeles Examiner Collection consists of approximately 1.4 million prints and negatives from the Los Angeles Examiner newspaper. It was a daily newspaper, published in the afternoon on weekdays (Herald-Express) and in the morning on weekends (Examiner). The afternoon and morning papers merged in 1962 (Herald Examiner).
Los Angeles Herald (1873-1910)
Los Angeles Star (1851-1864)
Bilingual Spanish-English newspaper
The Lowell (1898- present)
Student newspaper of Lowell High School in San Francisco. A few issues are missing.
San Francisco Call (1890-1913)
San Francisco's leading morning newspaper until 1913.
San Jose News (1928-1947)
Small Town Newspapers (1946-2012)
more...less...
• Beverly Hills Weekly, Beverly Hills (1999-2000, 2009-2012)
• The Catalina Islander, Avalon (2009-2012)
• Chester Progressive, Chester (1946-50, 1961-63, 1965, 2009-2012)
• Cloverdale Reveille, Cloverdale (1980, 1982, 1991, 1997, 2009-2012)
• Feather River Bulletin, Quincy (2009-2012)
• The Foothills Sun-Gazette, Exeter (2009-2012)
• The Gridley Herald, Gridley (2000, 2009-2012)
• Independent Coast Observer, Gualala (1969-1974, 2009-2012)
• Indian Valley Record, Greenville (1950-51, 1954-55, 1959, 2009-2012)
• The Intermountain News, Burney (2009-2012)
• The Julian News, Julian (2003-2004, 2009-2012)
• Lassen County Times, Susanville (2009-2012)
• Portola Reporter, Portola (2009-2012)
• Westwood Pine Press, Westwood (2002-2003)
Torrance Newspaper Archives (1913- 1969)
Torrance Press and Torrance Herald. Torrance is located just south of Los Angeles.
Whittier Public Library Newspaper Collection (1888-1942)
Includes the Whittier Register, the Whittier Daily News, and the Whittier News Whittier is located in Los Angeles County.

Colorado

Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (1859-1923)
The Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes more than 500,000 digitized pages, representing over 140 individual newspaper titles published in 60 Colorado cities and 40 counties.
Small Town Newspapers (1921-2012)
more...less...
• Haxtun-Flemming, Herald Haxtun (1988-90, 2009-2011)
• Kiowa County Press, Eads (2009-2012)
• The North Weld Herald, Eaton (1921, 1990, 1992, 2009-2012)
• The Saguache Crescent, Saguache (1925, 1931, 1937, 1939, 1943, 2009-2012)
• San Miguel Basin Forum, Nucla (1958, 1960, 1964, 1966-68, 1980, 1992, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2009-2012)
• The San Miguel Forum, Nucla (available soon)
• The Trinidad Times Independent, Trinidad (available soon)
• Wellington Tribune, Wellington (2005)

Connecticut

The Hartford Courant (1764-present)
Free searching. Please note that the online archives are text only, and do not include photographs.
Hartford Weekly Times (1847-1895)
Run does not include 1863, 1874, and 1885.
Meridien Daily Republican (1868-1899)
Newspapers of Connecticut (1821-1929)
Includes a dozen newspapers from cities like Hartford, Stafford, and New London. Most of the newspapers included are from the Civil War and the decades immediately preceding and following it.
Yale Daily News (1878-1981)
Not yet comprehensive.
The Wilton Bulletin (January 7, 1981 - December 29, 1997)

Delaware

Small Town Newspapers (1993-2012)
Cape Gazette Lewes, Delaware (1993-2012)
Sunday Morning Star (Wilmington) (1881-1949)
Wilmington Sunday Star (May 10, 1953 - April 18, 1954)

Florida

Boca Raton Newspapers (1938, 1948-1970)
Includes The Boca Raton News (1955-1970), The Pelican (1948-1953), The Weekly Tattler (1938), and more.
Central Florida Memory Newspaper Clippings (Late 18th-early 19th century)
Bulk consists of the St. Cloud Tribune.
Chronicling America (1895-1922)
Includes over 30 newspapers, including The DeSoto County News, The Champion (Arcadia), The Florida Agriculturalist (DeLand - An agricultural journal devoted to "state interests"), Gainesville Daily Sun, The New Enterprise (Madison), The Pensacola Journal, The Punta Gorda Herald, and many more.
Florida Digital Military Newspaper Library
• Army and navy chronicle (1835-1842)
• Buccaneer (Vero Beach, Florida) ( 28 issues )
• Coastal courier ( 3 issues )
• Daily military review (April 11, 1890)
• Drew Field echoes. ( 97 items )
• Eglin flyer ( 5 issues )
• Gosport (Pensacola, Fla.) ( 12 items )
• Guantánamo Bay gazette ( 275 issues )
• Gulf Defender ( 31 issues )
• Hurlburt patriot ( 5 issues )
• Jax air news. ( 1990 issues )
• Kings Bay periscope ( 116 issues )
• Military musings (December 1, 1886)
• Mirror (Mayport, FL) ( 147 issues )
• Missileer ( 50 issues )
• PS the preventive maintenance monthly ( 60 items )
• The Responder : Joint Task Force Haiti Newsletter ( 23 issues )
• Southernmost flyer / ( 34 issues )
• Spaceport news ( 25 items )
• Tyndall target. ( 117 items )
Florida Digital Newspaper Library (Mid-19th century-almost current)
Extensive geographic and chronological coverage, but many of the papers represented have short runs.
Historical News Accounts of Florida (1762-1885)
Newspaper articles ABOUT Florida from a wide range of newspapers.
Lakeland Ledger (1956-1963, 1971-2007)
Lakeland is in central Florida, east of Tampa.
Ocala Star-Banner (1953-2007)
Ocala is a city of 53,000 located in Marion County, about 100 miles northeast of Tampa and 75 miles northwest of Orlando.
St. Petersburg Evening Independent (1907-1909)
St. Petersburg Times (1901-2008)
Sarasota Herald- Tribune (1925-2008)
Sarasota is a city of 53,000 located south of Tampa on Florida's Gulf Coast.
Small Town Newspapers (1923-2012)
• The Calhoun-Liberty Journal, Bristol (2003-05, 2009-12)
• The DeFuniak Springs Herald, Defuniak Springs (2003-04, 2009-12)
• FSView & Florida Flambeau, Tallahassee (1923-37, 2009-11)
• Heritage Florida Jewish News, Fern Park (1976-80, 2009-12)
Weekly Miami Metropolis (1910-1917)
See also the Daily Miami Metropolis (1904-1907)

Georgia

Advertiser-News (October 6, 1977 - December 27, 1979)
The Albany Herald (October 1, 1973 - July 31, 2009)
8,607 issues
The Albany Sunday Herald (May 1, 1977 - November 30, 1992)
680 issues
Athens Historic Newspapers Archive (1827-1922 )
Includes the Athenian, 1827-1832; Southern Banner, 1832-1882; Southern Watchman, 1855-1882; Daily/Weekly Banner-Watchman, 1882-1889; Daily/Weekly Athens Banner, 1889-1922.
NOTE: You may need to install the free DjVu plugin in order to view the newspapers.
The Atlanta Historic Newspaper Archive (1847-1922)
Includes the Atlanta Daily Examiner, 1857; Atlanta Daily Herald, 1873-1876; Atlanta Georgian, 1906-1911; Atlanta Intelligencer, 1851 and 1854-1871; Atlantian, 1911-1922; Daily/Georgia Weekly Opinion, 1867-1868; Gate-City Guardian, 1861; Georgia Literary and Temperance Crusader, 1860-1861; New Era, 1869-1872; Southern Confederacy, 1861-1864; Southern Miscellany and Upper Georgia Whig, 1847; Southern World, 1882-1885; Sunny South, 1875-1907; and Weekly Constitution, 1869-1882.
NOTE: You may need to install the free DjVu plugin in order to view the newspapers.
The Atlanta Independent (1904-1928)
Missing 1919 and 1920.
The Cherokee Phoenix (1828-1834)
Printed in New Echota, capital of the Cherokee Nation, in what is now Georgia, this was the first native American Indian newspaper.
Columbus Enquirer (1828-1890)
A weekly newspaper until 1859, when it became daily. "During its earliest issues, the paper supported the ideological cause of state's rights, demonstrated by the quote used in its title banner: 'The Union of the States, and the Sovereignty of the States'...the Enquirer supported Whig politicians for office, including Henry Clay and Zachary Taylor. The paper began publishing on a daily basis in 1859. Two years later, the Enquirer was faced with the possibility of Southern secession, and broke with many other prominent newspapers of the time in calling for cooperation with the North, but quickly aligned itself with Georgia once secession became official."
NOTE: You may need to install the free DjVu plugin in order to view the newspapers.
The Colored Tribune (1876)
An African American newspaper based in Savannah. Coverage consists of only three issues from March and April, 1876.
The Countryman (1862-1866)
A Civil War-era paper "published in the Country, on a Southern Plantation, and Devoted to the Editor's Opinions."
The Dublin Post (1878-1887)
Dublin is in central Georgia, roughly halfway between Atlanta and Savannah.
Georgia Historic Newspapers (1750 to 1925)
The Georgia State University Signal (1926 - 1943)
• The collection includes:
• The Technite (1926-1932)
• The Evening Signal (1933-1943),
• The Junior Collegiate (1935-1943)
• The Signal (1943-)
Great Speckled Bird, 1968 - 1976
An underground newspaper published in Atlanta, Georgia.
Macon Telegraph (1826-1908)
Macon, located in central Georgia, is the seventh most populous city in the state and has long been one of the largest outside of Atlanta.
Mercer Cluster (1910 -1970)
Milledgeville Historic Newspapers (1808-1922)
Milledgeville, was the antebellum capital of Georgia from 1804 until the late 1860s. Titles include: Federal Union, 1830-1872; Future Citizen, 1914-1916; Georgia Argus, 1810-1815; Georgia Journal, 1809-1845; Milledgeville Intelligencer, 1808; Milledgeville News, 1909-1922; Reflector, 1817-1819; Southern Recorder, 1820-1872; Southron, 1828; Standard of Union, 1836-1841; Union Recorder, 1872-1920.
The Red and Black: An Archive of the University of Georgia Student Newspaper (1893-2006)
Searchable issues of the student newspaper of the University of Georgia, located in Athens.
Rome News-Tribune (1951-2008)
Daily newspaper from Georgia’s 19th-largest city.
Small Town Newspapers (1929-2012)
• The Clinch County News, Homerville (1929, 1937, 1944, 1953, 1967, 1971, 1989, 1991, 2001-02, 2009, 2012)
• The Harris County Journal, Hamilton (2009-12)
• The Hogansville Home News, Manchester (1999-2003, 2009-12)
• The Jones County News, Gray (1973, 1980, 1990, 2004-05, 2009-12)
• The Manchester Star-Mercury, Manchester (2009-12)
• The Meriwether Vindicator, Manchester (2009-12)
• The Monroe County Reporter, Forsyth (1999, 2004-05, 2009-12)
• The Talbotton New Era, Tallbotton (2005)
South Georgia Historic Newspapers (1845-1922)
• Albany Herald, 1892-1893, 1900-1901, 1906
• Albany News, 1867-1892
• Albany Patriot, 1845-1866
• Americus Times Recorder, 1881-1921
• Bainbridge Democrat, 1872-1909
• Bainbridge Search Light/Post-Search Light, 1901-1922
• Brunswick Advertiser/Advertiser and Appeal, 1875-1889
• Cuthbert Appeal, 1866-1886
• Sumter Republican (Americus), 1870-1885
• Thomasville Times Enterprise, 1873-1922
• Tifton Gazette, 1892-1919
• Valdosta Times, 1905-1912
• Vienna News, 1902-1918
• Waycross Headlight, 1884-1887
• Waycross Herald, 1892-1914
• Waycross Journal, 1901-1914
Southern Israelite (1929-1986)
"Rabbi H. Cerf Straus established the Southern Israelite as a temple bulletin in Augusta in 1925. The publication was so popular, he expanded it into a monthly newspaper. Later in the decade, Straus sold the paper to Herman Dessauer and Sara B. Simmons, who moved the paper to Atlanta, where it began circulating state-wide and eventually throughout the South."

Hawaii

Chronicling America (1868-1922)
Includes the Honolulu Daily Herald, The Daily Independent, the Hawaiian Gazette, and fifteen others.
Hawaiian Language Newspapers (1834-1927)
16 Hawaiian language newspapers online. Mixed quality of scans. Partial runs.
Hoʻolaupaʻi Hawaiian Nūpepa Collection (1834-1948)
more...less...
• Ahailono a ka Lahui
• Hawaii Holomua
• Hawaii Holomua
• Home Rula Republalika
• Honolulu Times
• Ka Elele
• Ka Hae Hawaii
• Ka Hoku Loa
• Ka Hoku o Hawaii
• Ka Hoku o ka Pakipika
• Ka Holomua
• Ka Lahui Hawaii
• Ka Lama Hawaii
• Ka Lanakila
• Ka Lau Oliva
• Ka Lei Momi
• Ka Lei Rose o Hawaii
• Ka Leo o ka Lahui
• Ka Makaainana
• Ka Manawa
• Ka Naʻi Aupuni
• Ka Nonanona
• Ka Nupepa Elele
• Ka Nupepa Kuokoa
• Ka Nupepa Puka la Aloha Aina
• Ka Nupepa Puka la ko Hawaii Pae Aina
• Ka Oiaio
• Ke Alahou
• Ke Alakai O Hawaii
• Ke Alakai o Hawaii
• Ke Alakai o Hawaii
• Ke Alaula
• Ke Aloha Aina
• Ke Aloha Aina Oiaio
• Ke Au Hou
• Ke Au Okoa
• Ke Kiai
• Ke Kilohana o ka Malamalama
• Ke Koo o
Small Town Newspapers
• The Molokai Dispatch, Kaunakakai (available soon)
Ulukau: Hawaiian Electronic Library (1834-1948)
Over 40 Hawaiian and English language newspapers. Mixed quality of scans. Partial runs.

Idaho

The Aberdeen Times (1968, 1973, 1986, 1989, 1996, 2003 - 2009)
The Adams County Record (December 1, 2005 - April 15, 2009)
American Falls Press (January 6, 1927 - December 27, 1934)
104 issues
Rigby Star (1906-1975)
Newspaper of this traditionally Mormon town.
Small Town Newspapers (1955-2012)
more...less...
• The Aberdeen Times, Aberdeen (1955, 1962, 1966, 1968, 1973, 1976-77, 1986, 1996, 2005, 2009-12)
• The Adams County Record, Council (1981-82, 1984-87, 2009-12)
• The Genesee News, Genesee (available soon)
• Island Park News, Island Park (2001-04, 2009-12)
• Kuna Melba News, Kuna (2008)
• Latah Eagle, Moscow (2002-04, 2009-10)
• The Long Valley Advocate, Cascade (2009-10)
• The News-Examiner, Montpelier (1955-59, 2009-12)
• The Power County Press, American Falls (1967, 1977, 1987, 1997, 2009-12)
• The Preston Citizen, Preston (2009-12)
• Weiser Signal American, Weiser (2009-12)

Illinois

The Antioch News (1981-2001)
The Argus (1894-2004)
Student newspapers of Illinois Wesleyan University.
Aurora Daily Express (1882-1901)
Aurora Daily Star (1921-1932)
Barrington Review (1914-1921 and 1925-1930)
Barrington, Illinois newspaper.
Chicago Defender (1905-1975)
Free search, article access for a fee.
Chicago Examiner (1908-1918 )
Hearst newspaper initially priced at 1 penny. Select relevant years (of Chicago Examiner) to search paper.
Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey (1855-1938)
The survey was published in 1942 by the Chicago Public Library Omnibus Project of the Works Projects Administration. The project was created to translate and classify selected news articles that appeared in the foreign language press between 1855 and 1938. It consists of some 120,000 typewritten pages, and features articles from the newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities in Chicago.
Chicago Sentinel (1911-1949)
Jewish American newspaper. The keyword search function works, but you must be patient. After you run a search and download an issue wait for the entire file to download before you search the PDF.
Chicago Tribune archive (1849-1985)
Free search, article access for a fee.
Chronicling America (1868-1922)
Includes the Chicago Eagle and many others.
Daily Egyptian Diversity News Archives (1930-1960)
Articles related to ethnic diversity excerpted from this Southern Illinois University Carbondale student newspaper.
Daily Illini (1874-1975)
Student newspaper of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Decaturian (1903-1951)
The student newspaper at Millikin University in Decatur, Illinois.
Express (Tallula, Illinois) 1895-1896 (Scattered issues)
Digital Newspaper Collections from the University of Illinois.
Farm, Field and Fireside Agricultural Newspaper Collection
A collection of over 20 Illinois-based farm newspapers from the 19th century. Maintained by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
more...less...
Banker Farmer 1 December 1913 - 1 February 1927 (156 issues)
Berkshire World and Cornbelt Stockman 1 January 1910 - 1 January 1926 (197 issues)
Better Farming 1 May 1913 - 1 March 1925 (136 issues)
Chicago Livestock World 1 January 1902 - 22 June 1917 (4716 issues)
Chicago Packer 13 April 1907 - 17 June 1939 (1621 issues)
Farmers' Review 1 September 1879 - 25 May 1918 (1907 issues)
Farmers Voice 1 January 1898 - 15 May 1913 (423 issues)
Farmers' Weekly Review 24 April 1929 - 31 March 2011 (4240 issues)
Farmer's Wife 1 January 1906 - 1 April 1939 (399 issues)
Farm, Field, and Fireside 1 February 1884 - 22 September 1906 (559 issues)
Farm, Field, and Stockman 1 January 1885 - 26 November 1887 (106 issues)
Farm Home 1 August 1899 - 1 June 1920 (190 issues)
Farm Press 1 October 1906 - 1 April 1913 (70 issues)
Illinois Farmer 1 January 1856 - 1 October 1864 (102 issues)
Ohio Farmer 5 January 1907 - 30 December 1922 (835 issues)
Lancaster Farming 4 November 1955 - 29 October 1983 (1382 issues)
National Rural and Family Magazine 3 November 1898 - 22 February 1900 (69 issues)
Prairie Farmer 1 January 1841 - 11 January 1941 (2476 issues)
Wallace's Farmer 7 January 1898 - 16 December 1950 (2189 issues)
Western Rural 4 January 1868 - 15 September 1883 (575 issues)
Western Rural and American Stockman 25 September 1879 - 2 August 1894 (240 issues)
Western Rural and Livestock Weekly 2 January 1896 - 27 October 1898 (147 issues)
The Huntley Farmside (1960-2001)
Hyde Park Herald (1882-2010)
Newspaper of Chicago's Hyde Park neighborhood.
Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection (IDNC)
The Proviso Township Herald (1941-1945)
Quincy Newspaper Project (1835-1919)
Quincy Daily Whig, Quincy Daily Journal, and the Quincy Daily Herald.
Sangamo Journal (1814-1839)
Small Town Newspapers (1894-2012)
more...less...
• The Arthur Graphic-Clarion, Arthur (1971-74, 2009-12)
• The Atwood Herald, Atwood (2011-12)
• Mt. Zion Region News, Mt. Zion (2009-12)
• The News Record, Cerro Gordo (available soon)
• The Sun, Trenton (1894, 1905, 1913, 1926, 2003-04, 2009-20, 2012)
• Times, Mt. Pulaski (2009-12)
Southern Illinois Newspapers (1883-1926)
An Archive of the Southern Illinois Record newspaper in Flora, Illinois, a town 100 miles east of St. Louis. Bulk of content is from 1907-1926.
Sterling Newspaper Archives (1854-2007)
Comprises 12 historical papers from Sterling, Illinois, a town in Whiteside County about halfway between Rockford and the Quad Cities. Bulk of content is from 1907-1926.
Sycamore True Republican (1869-1872; 1877-1968)
Digital Newspaper Collections from the University of Illinois.
Urbana Daily Courier (1903-1935)
Digital Newspaper Collections from the University of Illinois.
The World (October 2, 1974 - December 27, 1979)

Indiana

Allen County Public Library Archives (1845 -1970)
Collection of newspapers from Allen County, including the Fort Wayne Daily Democrat, Fort Wayne Daily Gazette, Fort Wayne Journal, and the Fort Wayne News & Sentinel.
Chronicling America (1904-????)
Ohio valley worker. A single, four-page issue, dated September 10, 1904, is all that remains of this publication.
Geographic coverage: Jeffersonville, Clark, Indiana; New Albany, Floyd, Indiana; Louisville, Jefferson, Kentucky.
Crawfordsville Star (1872-1898)
Crawfordsville is a city of about 16,000, located approximately 50 miles northwest of Indianapolis.
Daily Argus News (1886-1900)
Indiana Farmer (1851-1917)
Indianapolis Recorder (1899-2005)
African American newspaper that "focused on local people and events in Indianapolis but also reported national events." Missing 1917-1925.
Kendallville Standard (1873 -1908)
Kendallville is a small city north of Fort Wayne. IIncomplete run.
Muncie Post-Democrat (1921-1950)
Located in central Indiana, Muncie is the ninth-largest city in the state. It is notable for its appearance as Middletown in the social research of the Lynds during the 1920s and 30s.
Small Town Newspapers (1878-2012)
more...less...
• The News & Review, Monon (2001-04, 2009-12)
• North Manchester News-Journal, North Manchester (2004-05)
• The Royal Centre Record, Royal Center (1964-66, 1968-70, 1972-73, 2009-12)
• Starke County NewsHawk, Hamlet (available soon)
• Warren Weekly, Warren (1878-82, 2009-10)

Iowa

The Akron Hometowner (April 13, 2006 - April 15, 2009)
92 issues
Altoona, Polk County, Iowa Newspapers (1890-2000)
Once a rural town, Altoona is now a suburb of Des Moines.
Aurelia Sentinel, Cherokee County (1886-2003)
Buffalo Center Archives (1894-2006)
Buffalo Center is a small community in Winnebago County in north-central Iowa.
Carrol County Library Archives (1884-2009)
Cedar Rapids Library Archives (1857-1998)
Includes many historical Cedar Rapids newspapers, as well as papers from Linn County, Marion, and even Des Moines.
Clinton Evening News (1883-1890)
Clinton Morning Age (1894-1904)
Daily Iowan (1868-2012)
Independent student-run newspaper serving the University of Iowa and Iowa City. Includes earlier predecessors. Individual issues are saved as large PDF files, and may take some time to download.
Glenwood Public Library Newspaper Archives (1864-1987)
Iowa Digital State Archives
Archive also includes related titles like the Adams County Union Republican, Coring Adams County Free Press, and the Ruthven Free Press.
Johnston Historical Society Newspaper Archives (1971-2005)
Jones County Genealogical Society (1856-1865)
Newspapers from Cascade, Anamosa, and other towns in Jones County.
Lyon County Reporter (1915-2009)
Very spotty coverage, though it seems to be better for the 1920s. Limit your search to source: Lyon County Reporter to just search this paper.
Mills County Newspaper Archives (1864-2004)
Content mostly overlaps the Glenwood Public Library Newspaper Archives.
The Moravia Union (1911-2006 )
Roland Historical Society Newspaper Archives (1895-1975)
Includes the McCallsburg Record, The Oil Bulletin, and the Roland Record.
Ross and Elizabeth Baty Public Library Newspaper Archives (1865-2004)
Includes the Jones County Liberal (1872-1874) and the Monticello Express (1865-2004).
Small Town Newspapers (1904-2012)
more...less...
• Akron Hometowner (2007, 2009-10)
• Carlisle Citizen (2009-12)
• Danish Villages Voice, Elk Horn (2003-04)
• Dayton Review (1951-53, 1960-65, 2009-12)
• Decorah Journal (2009-12)
• Decorah Public Opinion (2011-12)
• Harlan News-Advertiser (1969, 1989)
• Harlan Tribune (1956, 2000)
• Highland Review, Kalona (2009-12)
• Kalona News (2000, 2002, 2005, 2009-12)
• Lone Tree Reporter (1924-25, 1933-34, 2001-05, 2009-12)
• Lyon County News, Inc., George (2009-12)
• Lyon County Reporter, Rock Rapids (2003-04, 2009-12)
• Marion County News, Pleasantville (2009-12)
• Moville Record (1998-99, 2009-10)
• N. Warren Town and County News, Norwalk (2009-12)
• Northwood Anchor (2009-12)
• Ogden Reporter
• Rock Rapids Review (1904, 1917, 1923)
• Sioux County Index Reporter, Hull (2009-12)
• Sun, Mt. Vernon (2009-12)
• W. Lyon Herald, Ironwood (1980-81, 1990-91, 2009-12)
Sioux County Newspaper Archives (1872-2007)
Over two dozen titles, including the Alton Democrat, the Ireton Examiner, and the Rock Valley Bee.
Spencer Public Library Archives (1884-1959)
Spencer is the county seat of Clay County, in the northwest corner of the state.
Sumner Library (Bremer County) Newspaper Archives (1881-2008)
Runs of the Sumner Gazette, Sumner Herald, and Sumner Journal.

Kansas

Chronicling America (1860-1904)
Includes the Wichita Eagle, Kansas Chief, Independent, Smoky Hill and Republican Union.
Lawrence Daily Journal (1880-1910)
Lawrence Journal-World (1911-2009)
Lawrence Daily World (1895-1911)
Lawrence is the sixth-largest city in the state, and is home to the University of Kansas.
Small Town Newspapers (1913-2012)
more...less...
• The Courtland Journal, Courtland (2009-12)
• The Johnson Pioneer, Johnson (1940, 1950, 2000-04, 2009-12)
• The Kiowa News, Kiowa (2009-12)
• The Osage County Herald-Chronicle, Burlingame (1913, 1915, 1919, 2003-04)
• The Oskaloosa Independent, Valley Falls (2009-12)
• The Prairie Post, White City (2009-12)
• The Vindicator, Valley Falls (1980, 2003, 2009-12)
• The Wabaunsee County Signal-Enterprise, Alma (2003-04, 2009-12)
• Western Kansas World, WaKeeney (1950, 1999, 2001-02, 2009-12)
• The Western Star, Coldwater (1941-43, 1955-57, 1965-66, 1973-74, 2009-12)

Kentucky

Chronicling America (1847-current)
More than fifty newspapers available. Some with short runs.
Kentuckiana Digital Library (1853-1933)
Bourbon News, Central Record, Adair County News, Bluegrass Blade (Lexington), and dozens more.
Kentucky New Era (1874-2010)
Small Town Newspapers (1952-2012)
• The Bath County News – Outlook, Owingsville (2002-04, 2009-12)
• The Harrodsburg Herald, Harrodsburg (2009-12)
• Hart Countys Newspaper News-Herald, Horse Cave (2005, 2009-12)
• Leader-News, Greenville (1952-53, 2006, 2009)
• Letcher County Community News-Press, Cromona (2009-12)
• The Ohio County Times-News, Hartford (1966, 1975, 2006, 2009)
• The Sebree Banner, Sebree (2009-12)
• The Times-Argus, Central City (1954, 2009-10)

Louisiana

L'Abeille [French version of New Orleans Bee] (1827 - 1831)
L'Abeille de la Nouvelle [French version of New Orleans Bee] (1862, 1865, 1867, 1870)
L'abeille de la Nouvelle-Orleans [French version of New Orleans Bee] (1846, 1849-51, 1861, 1865-1906, 1908-16, 1918-23, 1929)
L'Album Littèraire (January 12, 1883 - April 13, 1883)
11 issues
L'Ami des Lois & Journal du Soir [French] (1816-19)
L'Ami des Lois [French] (1823-24)
Chronicling America (1868-1903)
Includes the Ouachita Telegraph (Monroe), Morning Star and Catholic Sentinel (New Orleans), Louisiana Democrat (Alexandria), and dozens more.
Courrier De La Louisiane (1810-1857)
Incomplete run. A dual language French-English newspaper.
Harper's Weekly Journal of Civilization and Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper
Louisiana Courier (1855-1859)
Louisiana Newspaper Access Program (1827-1923)
A small number of early publications from all of Louisiana's parishes.
New Orleans Bee (1827-1923)
A French-English dual language newspaper (also known as L’Abeille de la Nouvelle-Orléans) from 1827-1872, after which English was dropped and it became French only . The images are arranged chronologically as PDF files and are not keyword searchable.
New Orleans Commercial Bulletin (1826-1871)
Incomplete run.
Small Town Newspapers (1926-2012)
• The Banner, Bernice (2009-12)
• Gonzales Weekly Citizen, Gonzales (1926-28)
• The Jena Times, Jena (2008-12)
• The Ponchatoula Times, Ponchatoula (1983-86, 2009-12)

Maine

The Cruiser (1859)
Handwritten community newspaper from Freeport. Transcription available (but not searchable) for each issue.
Small Town Newspapers (1968-2012)
• The Original Irregular, Kingfield (2009-2012)
• The Quoddy Tides, Eastport (1968-1970, 1975, 2012)

Maryland

The Afro American (January 4, 1902 - December 26, 1992)
The Afro-American Ledger (1906-1917)
African-American newspaper published in Baltimore.
American and Commercial Advertiser (January 2, 1854 - December 31, 1869)
3,330 issues
American & Commercial Daily Advertiser (March 9, 1800 - June 1, 1880)
11,347 issues
American and Daily Advertiser (May 16, 1799 - December 12, 1801)
373 issues
American Eagle (July 23, 1856 - August 12, 1857)
22 issues spread out over one year.
Baltimore Afro-American (1933-2003)
Choose the title of the newspaper as the source to limit your search to this paper.
Maryland Early State Records Online (1802-1947)
Scanned microfilm images that are unsearchable but can be browsed by date. Mostly scattered runs. Includes the Cambridge Chronicle, Maryland Gazette, Baltimore Clipper, Whig newspapers, and more.
Maryland Gazette (1728-1729, 1745-1839)
Scanned microfilm that is unsearchable but can be browsed by date.
Small Town Newspapers (2004-2015)
The Hancock News Hancock, Maryland (2004-2006, 2009-2015)

Massachusetts

Barnstable County Newspapers (1830-1930)
Features the Barnstable Patriot, covering Cape Cod and the Islands.
Hyannis Patriot, 1894 - 1930
Sandwich Observer, 1910 - 1911
Boston Daily Evening Transcript (1866-1872)
Boston Evening Transcript (1851-1915)
Cape Cod Chronicle and Chatham Monitor (1871-2001)
Includes Chatham Monitor: (1871-1899, 1918-1939, 1941-1943), the Lower Cape Cod Chronicle (1969-1974), the Cape Cod Chronicle (1974-2001), the Chatham Shopper News (1965-1968), and the Chatham News (1968-1969). A service of Chatham’s Eldredge Public Library.
Courier de Boston (1789)
26 issues of the French language newspapers published in Boston.
Diario de Noticias (1919-1973)
Called Alvorada Diario for its first seven years, this important Portuguese language newspaper covered Portuguese-American communities in New England and the Mid-Atlantic states. Click on "Search the Portuguese-American Digital Newspaper Collections," then select "Diario de Noticias" from the "Select Publication" pull-down menu.
Harvard Crimson (1776 - present)
The nation's oldest continuously published daily college newspaper.
The Justice (1949-2003)
Student newspaper of Brandeis University.
The Liberator (1831- 1851)
Abolitionist newspaper published in Boston, edited by William Lloyd Garrison. Selected articles, searchable.
The Mass Media (1966-2007)
Student newspaper of the University of Massachusetts at Boston.
Provincetown Advocate (1869-1880, 1899, 1917-1967)
Also includes the Provincetown Banner (1856-1861)
Provincetown News (1871)
Provincetown Beacon (1890, 1904, 1914)
New Beacon (1949-1950, 1956-1958).
Sheet Anchor (May 4, 1844-April 19, 1845)
(May 4, 1844-April 19, 1845) "A semi-monthly paper, devoted exclusively to the cause of seamen—to virture—to temperance—to humanity—to intelligence."
Small Town Newspapers (1846-2012)
• The Ashfield News, Ashfield (2000-05, 2010-12)
• The Brookfield Citizen, Brookfield (2010-12)
• Post-Gazette, Boston (2009-12)
• Vineyard Gazette, Edgartown (1846-50, 1865-66, 1874-77, 2009-12)
The Tech (1881- )
Student newspaper of MIT. According to the website, it is "MIT's oldest and largest newspaper & the first newspaper published on the web."
Wellesley Townsman (1906- 1986)
Wellesley is located just west of Boston.

Michigan

Ann Arbor Historical Newspapers (1880- 2009)
more...less...
• Ann Arbor Courier (1880- 1888)
• Ann Arbor Argus (1888- 1898)
• Ann Arbor Argus-Democrat (1898- 1899)
• Ann Arbor News (1927- 2009)
• Ann Arbor Sun (1967- 1976)
Cass City Chronicle and Cass City Enterprise (1881-2009)
Cass City Enterprise coverage begins 1881 and ends 1906; Cass City Chronicle coverage begins 1906. Available through the Rawson Memorial Library of Cass City, Michigan.
Central Michigan Life Student Newspaper Archive (1941- 1998)
Student newspaper of Central Michigan University.
Clarke Historical Library Newspaper Collection (1878- 2008)
Local newspapers from Clare and Washtenaw Counties.
more...less...
• CLARE COUNTY PRESS (1878-1881, 1883-1886)
• CLARE COURIER (1895-1896, 1903, 1907, 1911, 1913-1915, 1921-1922)
• CLARE DEMOCRAT (1886-1889)
• CLARE DEMOCRAT AND PRESS (1890-1892)
• CLARE PRESS (1886-1887)
• CLARE SENTINEL (Clare, Mich. : 1892-1894)
• CLARE SENTINEL (Clare, Mich. : 1896-1971)
• CLARE SENTINEL AND DEMOCRAT PRESS (1894-1896)
• THE SALINE OBSERVER (1880-1882, 1890-1959)
• REPORTER (1955-1958)
• SALINE REPORTER (1958-1969)
• SALINE REVIEW (1874)
Detroit Gazette (1817- 1830)
Entire run of the newspaper.
Gaylord Herald Times (1903- 2008)
Weekly paper in Otsego County, MI.
Grand Traverse Press (1918)
Weekly newspaper in Traverse City, MI. Scattered coverage.
Grosse Pointe Public Library Local History Archives newspaper collection (1920-1952)
Includes the Grosse Pointe Civic News (1923-1935), the Grosse Pointe News (1940-2009), and the Grosse Pointe Review (1930-1952).
Lake Orion Review (1868-1957)
Making of Modern Michigan (1862-1890's)
A collaborative project involving 52 libraries in Michigan. Includes such newspapers as: Gobles News (1925-1932); Middleville Sun (July-Dec. 1897); Manchester Enterprise (1867-1892); and Owosso Press (1862-1869).
The Michigan Daily (1947- 2009)
Student newspaper of the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor.
The Michigan State Journal (1841- 1847)
Whig newspaper published in Ann Arbor.
The Michigan Tribune (1871- 1882)
Weekly paper published in Battle Creek, in southern Michigan.
Owosso Argus-Press (1914-1972)
Oswosso is a town in Shiawassee County in central Michigan, about halfway between Lansing and Flint.
Saugatuck Commerical Record (1868-1959)
A lumber center in southwestern Michigan on the shore of Lake Michigan. In the early 20th century it became a resort and tourist community for the urbanizing areas of the upper Midwest.
Signal of Liberty (April 1841 - February 1848)
An abolitionist paper launched by Theodore Foster and Rev. Guy Beckley in Ann Arbor in 1841.
Small Town Newspapers (1989-2012)
• The Antrim Review, Bellaire (2009-10)
• The Clare County Review, Clare (1989, 1994, 2004)
• Montmorency County Tribune, Atlanta (2009-12)
Wolverine Citizen (January 2, 1858 - December 30, 1911)

Minnesota

Chronicling America (1878-1905)
Daily Globe (St. Paul), and dozens more.
Minneapolis Labor Review (1907-2006)
Covers the labor movement in Minneapolis and nationally.
Minnesota Online Historical Newspapers (1849-2006)
Link to free and subscription resources.
Minnesota student newspapers (1870s-present)
Student newspapers of colleges in Minnesota: Carleton, McCalister, Gustavus, Concordia, Luther, Trinity, more. From the initial page, choose the newspaper you wish to search.
St. Paul Union Advocate (1907-1977)
Labor newspapers based in St. Paul.
Small Town Newspapers (1903-2012)
more...less...
• Askov American, Askov (2009-12)
• Chatfield News, Chatfield (2005, 2009-12)
• Cold Spring Record, Cold Spring (2009-12)
• Dodge County Independent, Kasson (2003-04, 2009-12)
• Ely Echo, Ely (1979, 1988, 1999, 2009-12)
• Farmers Independent, Bagley (2009-12)
• Hendricks Pioneer, Hendricks (1903, 1911, 1974, 1984)
• Ivanhoe Times, Ivanhoe (1956-57, 1978-79, 1990-91, 1996-97, 2009-12)
• Lafayette Nicollet Ledger, Lafayette (1974, 1984, 1994, 2009-11)
• Lake Region Times, Madison Lake (2009-12)
• LeRoy Independent, Le Roy (2009-12)
• Northern Star, Clinton (2009-12)
• Ortonville Independent, Ortonville (1921-23, 1981, 1998-99, 2002-03, 2009-12)
• Sauk Centre Herald, Sauk Centre (1967-68, 2009-12)
• Sentinel Tribune, Westbrook (2002-03, 2009-12)
• Tri-County News, Kimball (1988, 1991, 2003-04, 2009-12)
• Tyler Tribute, Tyler (2002-04)
• Winthrop News, Lafayette (2009-12)
Student Newspapers of the College of Saint Benedict and Saint John's University (1888 - )
Winona Newspaper Project (1855-1976)
19th century Winona was a large steamboat port on the Mississippi in Southeast Minnesota, as well as a center of wheat and lumber production. Includes the Winona Argus, Winona Daily News, Winona Daily Republican, and the Winona Republican-Herald.
Winthrop News (November 16, 1922 - April 15, 2009)

Mississippi

Citizens' Council (1955-1961)
White supremacist newspaper published in Jackson. Browsable by date but not searchable.
Small Town Newspapers (1887-2012)
• Holmes County Herald, Lexington (1991-1992, 2009-2012)
• The Southern Herald, Liberty (1985-1986, 1989, 2009-2012)
• Stone County Enterprise, Wiggins (1985-1986, 1989, 2009-2012)
• The Woodville Republican, Woodville (1887-1888, 1898-1899, 2009-2012)
The Woodville Republican (January 7, 1882 - April 16, 2009)

Missouri

Chillicothe Constitution Tribune and predecessors. (1889-2009)
Chronicling America (1880-1922)
Columbia Missourian (1908, 1909, 1929, 1966-1985)
Student paper at the University of Missouri that includes many AP and UPI articles that ran nationally.
Missouri Digital Heritage Historic Newspapers (1836-1987)
Includes Methodist, Whig, Republican and Civil War-era newspapers.
St. Louis Argus (1915-1945)
African-American Newspaper published in St. Louis, Missouri.
Small Town Newspapers (1961-2012)
• Cuba Free Press, Cuba (1961, 2003-04)
• The Excelsior Springs Standard, Excelsior Springs (1997, 2000, 2009)
• Monroe County Appeal, Paris (1965, 1975, 1985, 1995, 2009-12)
• Press-News Journal, Canton (1978, 1985)

Montana

A'tome (February 14, 1974 - December 19, 1974)
Northern Cheyenne Press.
The Age-Sentinel (September 7, 1905 - April 8, 1909)
61 issues
Alvord Sunset Gazette (April 12, 2001 - April 19, 2001)
2 issues
Chronicling America (1864-1869)
Montana Post, Anaconda Standard, Daily Yellowstone Journal, and more.
Digital Char-Koosta News (1956-1961, 1971-1988)
Native American newspaper. "Published by the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Indian Reservation."
Small Town Newspapers (1908-2012)
more...less...
• The Big Timber Pioneer, Big Timber (1944-1945)
• Blackfoot Valley Dispatch, Lincoln (2009-2012)
• The Mountaineer, Big Sandy (1974, 1979, 2009-2012)
• Philipsburg Mail Philipsburg (1908, 1911, 1932, 1935-36, 1938-39, 2009-2012)
• Phillips County News, Malta (1999, 2000-2004)
• Roundup Record Tribune & Winnett Times, Roundup (1926-27, 1933-34, 1947-48, 1952-53, 1969-71, 2009-2012)
• Sidney Herald, Sidney (2009-2012)
• Silver State Post, Deer Lodge (2009-2012)
The Whole Truth (October 10, 1896 - September 24, 1898)
The Winston Prospector (May 27, 1897 - July 20, 1899)
Wonderland (May 17, 1902 - December 7, 1905)
The Yellowstone Journal (August 1, 1891 - July 4, 1901)
The Yellowstone News (March 10, 1906 - December 28, 1918)
Yellowstone Valley Recorder (December 5, 1894 - August 26, 1896)

Nebraska

Chronicling America (1874-1922)
Includes the Omaha Daily Bee, Red Cloud Chief, and many more.
Gateway Newspaper Archive (1922-2010 )
Student newspaper of the University of Nebraska Omaha.
Nebraska Newspapers: Digitizing Nebraska's History (1874-1914)
more...less...
Broken Bow
• Custer County Republican (March 16, 1899 - December 12, 1910)
Falls City
• Falls City Tribune (January 8, 1904 - July 24, 1908)
Lincoln
• The Daily Nebraskan (June 13, 1901 - May 29, 1914)
McCook
• McCook Weekly Tribune (September 6, 1883 - May 28, 1885)
• The McCook Tribune (June 3, 1885 - May 13, 1912)
Norfolk
• The Norfolk Weekly News (March 9, 1899 - November 15, 1900)
• The Norfolk Weekly News-Journal (November 23, 1900 - March 29, 1912)
Omaha
• The Omaha Daily Bee (July 21, 1874 - February 15, 1900)
Valentine
• Cherry County Independent (December 8, 1892 - April 2, 1896)
• Valentine Democrat (April 9, 1896 - August 25, 1898)
• Western News-Democrat (September 1, 1898 - April 26, 1900)
The Ord Quiz (1895- 1980)
Scattered issues, not all years included. You need to select a year first and that will get you to a searchable PDF of all issues available for that year. Ord is located in eastern Nebraska.
Small Town Newspapers (1962-2012)
• Jewell County Record, Superior (1962-63, 1975-76, 2009-10, 2012)
• The Superior Express, Superior (1972, 1982, 1992, 2002, 2009-12)

Nevada

Basic Magnesium, Inc. Newsletters (1942-1944)
Includes The Big Job and the Basic Bombardier. Provides insight into the importance of magnesium production during WWII.
CLAN Digital Collection (1860-1919, 1950-1980)
Daily Territorial Enterprise, Goodsprings Gazette, Henderson Home News, Reese River Reveille, Wadsworth Dispatch, White Pine News.
Henderson Home News (1951-2009)
Las Vegas Age (1905-1915, 1917-1922, 1924)
Incomplete run.
Nevada Daily Mail/Evening Mail (1883-2007)
Small Town Newspapers (1939-2012)
• Mineral County Independent-News, Hawthorne (1939, 1944-46, 1954-55, 1965-67, 2009-2012)
• Moapa Valley Progress, Overton (available soon)
• Pahrump Mirror, Pahrump (1995-2012)

New Hampshire

Small Town Newspapers (1980-2002)
• Bedford Journal, Milford (available soon)
• Merrimack Journal, Milford (2001-02)
• Peterborough Transcript, Peterborough (1980, 1983)

New Jersey

Atlantic County Digitized Newspapers (1860-1923)
Newspapers from Atlantic City and the surrounding area. Includes: Atlantic Journal (1860); Hammonton Farmer (1863; 1866); South Jersey Republican (1863-1923); Atlantic Democrat and Cape May County Register (1864-1865); Atlantic Democrat and Cumberland County Patriot (1866); Atlantic Democrat (1866; 1867-1868); Hammonton Item (1872-1877); Mays Landing Record (1877-1906); Atlantic County Record (1908-1917); and South Jersey Star (1917-1923).
Daily Princetonian (1876-2002)
Franklin Township Newspapers (1948- 1978)
Franklin Township is just west of New Brunswick.
• Record (1948–1958)
• News (1954–1958)
• News-Record (1958-1978)
Montclarion (1962-2001)
Montclair State University student newspaper. Incomplete run.
New Brunswick Newspapers (1871-1916)
Includes both the New Brunswick Daily Times and the New Brunswick Home News.
New Jersey Mirror (1818-1947)
Burlington, NJ newspaper.
Paterson Historic Newspapers (1935 - 1966)
Newspapers from Paterson, in Passaic County. Includes Chronicle, the Sunday Chronicle, Il Messaggero (in Italian,) and The Messenger. Date ranges vary.
Red Bank Register (1878-1991)
Known as the Daily Register from 1964-1991. Red Bank is a town on the Navesink River in Monmouth County.
Rockaway Historic Newspapers (1872-1936)
Includes The Iron Era (1872-1905) and The Rockaway Record (1890-1936). Rockaway is a city in north central New Jersey.
The Scotch Plains- Fanwood Times (1963- present)
Scotch Plains is located south of Newark.
The Silent Worker (1888-1929)
The Silent Worker was a popular national newspaper among the Deaf community in the United States during the end of the 1890's through the end of the first quarter of the 20th century. Originally known as the Deaf Mute Times, it was first published in February 1888 and renamed The Silent Worker on September 27 of the same year. The New Jersey School for the Deaf continued its publication monthly, except for July, August, and periodically September until it ceased in June 1929. Deaf American authors wrote almost all articles, although occasional contributions by deaf individuals from other countries were also printed.
South Amboy Citizen (1910-2000)
A weekly paper from South Amboy, a town in central coastal New Jersey. Some issues are missing.
Westfield Memorial Library newspapers (1891-2008)
Several newspapers from Westfield in Union County.
Woodbridge Township Historic Newspapers (1876-1970)
Includes the Carteret Press (1925-1965), Fords Beacon (1936-1961), Independent Leader (1940-1965), Leader Press (1967-1970), The Independent Hour (1876-1877), The Weekly Register (1898-1902), Woodbridge Leader (1927-1928), Woodbridge News (1899-1902), Woodbridge Independent (1919-1938), and the Woodbridge Leader (1926-1939).

New Mexico

Chronicling America
Small Town Newspapers (1977-2012)
more...less...
• Clovis Livestock Market News, Fort Sumner (2009-2012)
• De Baca County News, Fort Sumner (1977-81, 2009-2012)
• Hidalgo County Herald, Lordsburg (2009-2012)
• The Independent, Edgewood (2009-2012)
• Mountain Mail, Socorro (1980-1990)
• The Raton Range, Raton (available soon)

New York

Albany Student Newspaper Archive (1916- 1985)
Albany Student Press and its predecessors
Aufbau (1951- 2004)
German-Jewish emigre journal.
Bard College Student Newspaper Archive (1895-1999)
Barnard Bulletin (1901-2002)
The Bethpage Tribune (1941, 1966- 2011)
Bethpage is located on Long Island. Select a year to search content within that year.
Brooklyn Daily Eagle (1841-1902)
Extensive national and international coverage. At one point the country's most widely read afternoon daily.
Catskill Mountain News (1902-1967)
Chronicling America (1879-1922)
Includes: The Sun (1859-1916), the Evening World (1887-1922) and the New-York Tribune (1841-1922).
Cornell Daily Sun (1880-1981)
Cornell University undergraduate newspaper.
The Empty Closet (1971-2011)
The Empty Closet is one of the oldest continuously published LGBT papers in the United States. It was begun at the University of Rochester by Bob Osborn and Larry Fine, the founders of the UR student group, Rochester Gay Liberation Front, and later transferred to the Gay Alliance of the Genesee Valley (GAGV).
Farmingdale Historic Newspapers (1961- 1977)
Includes The Observer, Farmingdale Observer, The Farmingdale Post. Missing some years. Select the paper and the year to search within that content.
Frederick Douglass' Paper (1852- 1855)
Abolitionist paper published in Rochester, earlier called The North Star. This is a page of links to transcribed articles. Not searchable. The entire March 18, 1853 issue is available here: http://utc.iath.virginia.edu/interpret/fdpaper/fdpagesf.html
Freedom's Journal (1827-1829)
All 103 issues available as full-text PDFs. The first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States, Freedom's Journal was published weekly in New York City.
Freeport Historic Newspapers (1921- 2010)
Includes The Leader, Freeport News, Nassau Post, and others. Select the paper from the homepage to search within that paper. Freeport is located on Long Island. Date ranges vary by paper.
The Friend of Man (1836-1842)
This online archive contains 281 issues, which is close to the complete run. The Friend of Man was "one of the most significant and little studied newspapers documenting early anti-slavery and other reform movements," and was published in central New York.
The Canisian (1929-1932)
Student newspaper of Canisius College.
Hudson River Valley Historical Newspapers (1833-1916)
Newburgh Telegraph (1831-1835), Rockland County Journal (1850-1879), Rockland County Messenger (1848, 1851-1855, 1857-1860), Rockland County Times (1902-1904), The Kingston Daily Freeman (1895, 1903-1912), and three publications from Vassar College: The Vassar Miscellany Weekly (1872-1915), Vassar Chronicle (1944-1978), and Vassar Spectator (1983-1993).
Ithacan (1931 - 2002)
Student newspaper of Ithaca College.
Kingston Daily Freeman (1895, 1903-1913)
Kingston is New York's Hudson River Valley, between Poughkeepsie and Albany.
Mackenzie's Gazette (1838-1840)
New York City newspaper, the content of which "reflected [William Lyon] Mackenzie's views entirely and was extremely reform minded to the point that it advocated revolution against the ruling system of government."
New York Age (1890- 1892)
Influential African-American newspaper which ran from 1887- 1953. Staff writers included Ida B. Wells-Barnett and W.E.B. DuBois.
New York Age (1905- 1960)
Influential African-American newspaper which ran from 1887- 1953). Staff writers included Ida B. Wells-Barnett and W.E.B DuBois. Issues available as non-searchable PDFs.
The New York Daily Tribune (1842-1866)
The New York Daily Tribune was renamed the New York Tribune in 1866.
New York Evening World (1887-1922)
Famously sensational newspaper published by Joseph Pulitzer and perhaps best know for its 'yellow journalism.'
New York State Historical Newspapers (1811-2009)
Includes over 50 papers from Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Jefferson, Lewis, Oswego and St. Lawrence counties in the Adirondack region of northern New York State.
New York State Historical Newspapers/New York Tribune (18th-20th centuries)
The search interface supports complex searching. To search a specific newspaper start your search with the title in quotes "Syracuse NY Post Standard." Use this format to limit by date: 1904~~1920. Connect information with 'and.' For example: "Syracuse NY Post Standard" and 1904~~1920 and canal. A listing of all newspapers that provides date browsing is available here Includes New York city papers: Tribune (1841-1922), Sun (1843-1945), Spectator (1797-1845), Evening Telegram (1868-1924), Evening Post (1810-1920), New York Age (1906-1953), Spirit of the Times (1838-1890), World (1862-1901) more.
New York Sun (1859-1916)
The nation's first successful penny daily, and the New York City circulation leader for several decades in the 19th century. By 1900 it was less important than several other city papers but still influential. Continued in next link.
New York Sun (1916-1920)
Includes vol. 83, no. 335 (July 31, 1916) through vol. 87, no. 153 (Jan. 31, 1920).
New York Times Article Archive
The archive is divided into two search sets: 1851–1980 and 1981–present.
Some materiial is free but there are conditions.
The New York Tribune (1866-1922)
Continuation of the New York Daily Tribune.
Putnam Courier (1849-1930)
Newspaper published in Mahopac, which is located near Danbury, Connecticut.
Rochester Area Historic Newspaper Collection (1826-1866)
This collection of newspapers from Rochester and surrounding Monroe County includes the Liberal Advocate, The Rights of Man, The Monroe Democrat, Soldiers Aid and 20 other antebellum and Civil War era newspapers.
Small Town Newspapers (2003-2006)
• The Lake & Valley Clarion Geneseo, New York (2003-2006)
The Spectrum (1950- 1962)
The student newspaper of SUNY-Buffalo.
Stony Brook University Campus Newspaper Archive (1958- 2011)
Stony Brook University student newspapers and other campus publications.
Suffolk County Historic Newspaper Archive (1822-2007)
Historic newspapers from the eastern three-quarters of Long Island, New York. Includes the Babylon Beacon (1967-1972), The Corrector (Sag Harbor, 1822-1911), The Long Islander (Huntington, 1839-1974), The Patchogue Advance (1926-1961), and eight others.
Vassar College Digital Newspaper Archives (1872-present)
The Vassar College Digital Newspaper Archives provides access to a wide range of newspapers published by Vassar College students from 1872-present.
• Left of Center (April 1988 - 16 April 1992)
• Miscellany News (6 February 1914 - 28 April 2011)
• The Vassar Miscellany (literary publication) (1 April 1872 - 1 October 1915)
• The Vassar Spectator (1 March 1983 - 1 March 1993)
• Unscrewed (1 October 1976 - 1 April 1989)
• Vassar Chronicle (1 March 1944 - 28 April 1978)
• Womanspeak (1 March 1979 - 1 October 1992)
Village Voice (1955-2004)
One of the original "alternative newsweeklies," the Voice featured local news and coverage of art, culture, and entertainment in lower Manhattan and throughout New York.

North Carolina

The Alamance Gleaner (January 3, 1881 - December 29, 1910)
1,482 issues
The Davidsonian (1914- 2006)
Student newspaper of Davidson College, which is located near Charlotte.
Digital NC Newspapers (1824-2012, some scattered runs)
Collection of over 50 North Carolina newspapers. Includes the Fayetteville Observer (1851-1865), The Pilot (Southern Pines, 1929-1943), Mecklenburg Jeffersonian (Charlotte, 1841-1849), Black Ink (Black Student Movement, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1969-2001), The Charlotte Jewish News (1979-2000, 2009, 2011), and student papers from Bennett College, Elon University, Louisburg College, UNC-Wilmington, and Fayetteville State University, among others.
North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project (1756-1898, with some scattered runs)
Collection of North Carolina newspapers, featuring The Wilmington Post Boy (1756-1766), Carolina (Salisbury) Watchman (1832- 1898), and other mainly 18th century newspapers from Edenton, Fayetteville, Hillsboro, New Bern, Salisbury and Wilmington.
Small Town Newspapers (1957-2012)
• Kenly News, Kenly (1978, 1985, 1989, 2009-12)
• The Southerner, Welcome (2009-12)
• Spring Hope Enterprise, Spring Hope (1957-58, 1978, 1982, 1988, 1992, 1998, 2009-12)
• The Sylva Herald and Rualite, Slyva (1977-79, 2009-12)

North Dakota

Frontier Scout (1864- 1865)
First known newspaper published in North Dakota Territory. Eighteen issues available as image files.

Ohio

The Advertiser (July 11, 1868 - January 3, 1873)
African American Experience in Ohio: 1850-1920 (1843-1923)
Selected articles from a number of African American newspapers published in Ohio.
Amherst News-Times (1919- 2011)
Amherst is located just west of Cleveland.
Bryan Times (1864-1925, 1961-2007)
Bryan is a small town in far northwest Ohio, about halfway between Toledo and Ft. Wayne, Indiana. Includes 19th-century predecessors like the Bryan Press and the Bryan Democrat.
Chronicling America (1845-1922)
Includes the Cleveland Morning Leader, Anti-Slavery Bugle, and more than 40 other newspapers from across the state.
Cleveland Press (1878- 1982)
Clippings collection. Not browse-able or searchable by date, but newspaper articles do appear in the results along with photographs.
Jambar (1931-2008)
Student newspaper of Youngstown State University.
Norwalk Reflector (1827-1830, 1841-1844, 1862-1863, 1997-2005)
Collection features the Norwalk Reflector (1862-1863, 1997-2005) and other papers from Norwalk and Huron County, including the Huron Reflector (1830-1853), Norwalk Experiment (1841-1844), and the Norwalk Reporter & Huron Advertiser (1827-1830).
Oberlin News- Tribune: The World War II Years (1941-1945)
Ohio Jewish Chronicle (1918-1994)
Toledo Blade (1879-1924, 1940-2007)
Western Round-up Student Newspaper (1930-1971)
The newspaper of the Western College for Women.
Wiadomosci Codzienne (October 24, 1916 - December 26, 1926)
Williams County Leader (September 5, 1861 - July 24, 1862)
The Wood County Herald (October 5, 1894 - November 20, 1919)
Worthington News (January 7, 2004 - March 30, 2005)
Xavier University and Edgecliff College Student Newspapers (1914- 2009)
Edgecliff College was a Catholic women's college in Cincinnati. In 1980, it merged with Xavier University, a Catholic men's college in Cincinnati to form the current co-ed Xavier University.
Youngstown Evening Vindicator (Mar 19, 1891 - May 11, 1893)
Youngstown Vindicator (April 22, 1807 - August 31, 1984)
April 22, 1807, May 12, 1893 - July 31, 1980, August, 16, 1980 - September 15, 1981, October 1, 1981 - September 30, 1983, October 16, 1983 - December 15, 1983, January 1, 1984 - Aug 31, 1984

Oregon

Chronicling America (1871-1922)
The Evening Herald (Klamath Falls), Sumpter Miner, Daily Capital Journal (Salem), many more.
Eugene Register-Guard (1867-2008)
Historic Oregon Newspapers (1846-1922)
Includes the Morning Oregonian, Daily Astorian, Coos Bay Times, Bend Bulletin, and over 40 other titles.
Kimble Northwest History Database (19th and early 20th centuries)
Clippings collection. According to the website, "the newspaper articles were collected and organized in the late 1930's by dedicated historians working for the Works Progress Administration."
Small Town Newspapers (1939-2012)
more...less...
• The Clatskanie Chief, Clatskanie (1948-49, 2000, 2009-2012)
• Coquille Valley Sentinel, Coquille (1970-73, 1999-2003, 2009-2012)
• Dayton Tribune Dayton, Oregon (1977-78, 1980)
• Hells Canyon Journal, Halfway (1985-86, 1996-98, 2009-2012)
• Heppner Gazette-Times, Heppner (1968, 1972, 1999, 2009-2012)
• Index, Forest Grove (available soon)
• McKenzie River Reflections, McKenzie Bridge (1985-87, 1989, 2001-2005, 2009-2012)
• The New Era, Sweet Home (1941, 1950, 1960, 2003-2004, 2009-2012)
• The Pendleton Record, Pendleton (1971-72, 1982-84, 2009-2012)
• The Sun, Sheridan (1953, 1963-64, 1966, 1991, 2009-2012)
• The Times, Brownsville (1975-79, 2009-2012)
• The Times-Journal, Condon (1939-40, 1951, 1966, 1974, 2003-2004, 2009-2012)

Pennsylvania

PA Photos and Documents (Pennsylvania19th-early 20th century)
Adams Centinel (1800-1883)
Adams County, of which Gettysburg is the seat, is located in south-central Pennsylvania along the border with Maryland.
Adams County News (November 28, 1908 - August 25, 1917)
Allegheny Times (October 2, 1988 - January 31, 2008)
732 issues
Ambler Gazette (1894-1944)
Aquinas (1915-present)
Student newspaper of the University of Scranton.
Beaver County Times (1954-2007)
Beaver County is northwest of Pittsburgh.
Chronicling America (1837-1922)
Includes The Scranton Tribune (1897-1902), the Philadelphia Evening Public Ledger (1914-1922), and many more.
Daily Times [Beaver County]
Delaware County Newspaper Archives (1876-2007)
Primarily consists of Chester newspapers.
Franklin and Marshall Student Newspaper Collection (1816-2011)
Franklin Repository (1859-1867)
Republican Newspaper. Excerpts.
Gettysburg Compiler (1869-1941)
Gettysburgian (1897-2004)
Student newspaper of Gettysburg University.
Green Free Library Digital Archives (1838-2007)
Collection contains a number of newspapers covering Tioga, Bradford and Wellsboro.
Greenville Public Library Archives, Mercer County (1869-2007)
Newspapers of Greenville and the surrounding area in Mercer county.
Hamlin Memorial Library Archives, Smethport, McKean County (1833-1977)
16 newspapers of Smethport and the surrounding area in McKean County.
Irish Press (1918-1922)
A "weekly newspaper dedicated to Irish nationalism and to topics of interest to Irish-Americans. It was founded by Joseph McGarrity and published in Philadelphia from March 23, 1918 to May 6, 1922."
The Lafayette (1870-2007)
Student newspaper of Lafayette College.
Lancaster Digitization Project (1889-1931)
• Columbia Spy (1830-1889)
• Franklin and Marshall College Reporter (1873-2011)
• Lancaster Daily Intelligencer (1880-1890)
• Lancaster Examiner and Herald (1834-1872)
• The Lancaster Farmer (1869-1884)
• Lancaster Intelligencer (1847-1871)
• Lancaster Journal (1816-1836)
• New Holland Criterion (1873- 1950).
• Lancaster City and County Directories (1843-1914)
• Lititz Newspaper Collection
• Millersville University Snapper (1925-2005)
• New Holland Clarion (1873-1950)
Lancaster Farming (1955-1983)
An important agricultural publication.
Lincoln News/Lincolnian (1925-2003)
Student newspaper of Lincoln University
Lycoming College Student Newspapers (1856- )
Student newspapers of of Lycoming College.
Nazareth Item (1891-1940)
http://www.accesspadr.org/cdm4/browse.php?CISOROOT=/naz_item
The Occident and American Jewish Advocate (1843-1853)
The leading Jewish publication in the United States during this period.
Penn State Student Newspapers (1887- present)
The Daily Collegian (and predecessors), as well as the Behrend Beacon and Hazleton Highacres.
Pennsylvania Civil War Newspapers (including Philadelphia papers) (1847-1874)
Includes three Philadelphia papers (Press, 1857-64; American Presbyterian, 1860-1869; Daily Evening Bulletin 1864-1870) and the newspapers of Bellefonte, Chambersburg, Columbia, Erie, Gettysburg, Huntingdon, Reading, Waynesboro and Wellsboro.
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project (1895-present)
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1927-2007)
Choose “Pittsburgh Post-Gazette” as the source to limit your search to this paper.
Pittsburgh Press (1890-1990)
The Philadelphia Inquirer Civil War Archive (1860-1865)
Includes The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present).
Reading Eagle (1868 - )
Republican Compiler (1818-1869)
Gettyburg newspaper.
Small Town Newspapers (1845-2012)
• Mifflinburg Telegraph, Mifflinburg (1945-1946, 2003-2004, 2009-2012)
State Library of Pennsylvania Historic Newspapers Collection (1826-1929)
Scattered runs of multiple newspapers. Collection of mainly small town newspapers in Pennsylvania.
Valley Spirit (1859-1870)
Franklin County Democratic newspaper. Excerpts.
Wilkes-Barre Sunday Independent (1913-1946)
Williamsport Gazette and Bulletin (1924-1955)
Scattered run in later years.

Puerto Rico

The Cuban Nation (La Nacion, 2007-2012)
In English and Spanish.
◦El Nuevo Día (San Juan, 1990- present)
In Spanish.
The Puerto Rico Herald (March 19, 1997 - August 12, 2005)
In English.

Rhode Island

The American Journal and General Advertiser (April 1, 1779 - August 29, 1781)
142 issues
Brown Daily Herald (1891-2011)
Student newspaper of Brown University in Providence. Several gaps in run.
Pembroke Record (1922-1970)
From 1922 to 1970, the Pembroke Record documented and commented upon life at Pembroke College in Brown University.

South Carolina

Chronicling America (1863-1922)
Includes the Columbia Phoenix, Charleston Advocate, and many more.
Loris Sentinel (1953, 1956-1959)
Loris is a small town in the far northeastern part of the state, near the North Carolina border.
The New South Newspaper (1862-1866)
Civil War era paper documenting the South Carolina low country, based first in Port Royal and later in Beaufort.
Small Town Newspapers (2003-2012)
• The Columbia Star, Columbia (2003-04)
• Horry Independent, Conway (2003-04, 2009-12)
• The Loris Scene, Loris (2009-12)
• Loris Sentinel, Conway (not available)
Spartanburg Herald Journal (1875-1880, 1905-2008 )

Tennessee

Chronicling America (1850-1878)
Small Town Newspapers (1959-2012)
The News-Democrat Waverly, Tennessee (1959, 1967, 1970, 1985, 2009-2012)

Texas

Abilene Daily Reporter (1888-1923)
Includes the Abilene Daily Reporter, Abilene Reporter, Abilene Semi-Weekly Farm Reporter, and the Abilene Semi-Weekly Reporter.
Chronicling America (1874-1921)
Jefferson Jimplecute, Jewish Herald (Houston), Palestine Daily Herald, Fort Worth Daily Gazette, The Daily Herald (Brownsville).
Corsicana Daily Sun (1909-1977)
La Marque Times (1921-1998)
The Mirage and Trintonian
Student newspapers of Trinity College.
Panola Watchman (1898-1961)
"Dedicated to the Service of the People and the Institutions of Carthage and Panola County." Panola County is on the Louisiana border in eastern Texas, about halfway between Texarkana and Nacogdoches.
Portal to Texas History: Newspapers (1898-1961)
Scattered runs of multiple newspapers.
Small Town Newspapers (1973-2012)
• Alvord Sunset Gazette, Alvord (available soon)
• Bulverde Standard, Canyon Lake (1986, 2009-10)
• Burnet Bulletin, Burnet (1983, 1993, 2001-03, 2009-12)
• The Clarendon Enterprise, Clarendon (1973, 1983, 1992, 1994, 2003-04, 2009-12)
• The Clay County Leader, Henrietta (1996-2006, 2009-11)
• East Bernard Express, East Bernard (2009-12)
• Edgewood Enterprise, Grand Saline (1976, 1978, 1982, 2009-11)
• Grand Saline Sun, Grand Saline (2009-12)
• The Groesbeck Journal, Groesbeck (available soon)
• The Hansford County Reporter-Statesman, Spearman (2009-12)
• Hays Free Press, Kyle (2003, 2009-12)
• The Lakelander, Whitney (2009-12)
• The Malakoff News, Malakoff (2001-05, 2009-12)
• The Munday Courier, Munday (2009-12)
• The Stonewall County Courier, Aspermont (2001-05, 2009-12)
• Trammel Trace Tribune, Tatum (2009-12)
• The Twin Cities News, Munday (1990, 1992)
Taylor County News (1885-1899)
Abilene is the primary urban center in Taylor County.
The Weimar and Colorado County newspaper archive (1857-1980)
• Weimar Gimlet (1885 – 1888)
• Weimar Daily Gimlet (1887 – 1888)
• Weimar Daily Informer (1887 – 1887)
• Weimar Mercury (1889 – 1980)
• Weimar Daily Tribune (1898 – 1898)
• Colorado Citizen (1857 – 1980)
• Eagle Lake Headlight (1921 – 1980)
The Wellington Leader (1909-2008)
The Wichita Daily Times (1911-1923)
Wichita County is in northern Texas, along the Oklahoma border.
Wood County Democrat (Jan 4, 1916 - Dec 29, 2004)

Utah

Brigham Young University Harold B. Lee Library newspaper collection (1800's-?)
Features 11 newspapers, including the Daily Enquirer (Jan. 1881 - Oct. 1892, with over 1,100 items), the Rigby Star Newspaper (Jan. 1906 - Dec. 1975, with over 2,200 items), the Women's Exponent (1860-1914, with over 700 items), and the 19th Century Mormon Article Newspaper Index (from various newspapers, with over 9,000 items).
Chronicling America (1880-1910)
Primarily supplements the Utah Digital Newspaper Project.
Utah Digital Newspaper Project (1850-2010)
Over 70 newspapers (including the Deseret News) from 27 of Utah's 29 counties.

Vermont

Chronicling America (1836-1895)
Includes long runs of Burlington and Rutland newspapers.
Small Town Newspapers (2009-2012)
• Journal Opinion Bradford, Vermont (2009-2012)

Virgin Islands Newspapers

Virgin Islands Daily News (1930-1981)

Virginia

Chronicling America (1860-1922)
Alexandria Gazette, Richmond Dispatch, Richmond Planet, more.
The Collegian (1914-2006)
University of Richmond student newspaper.
The Flat Hat (1911-present)
Only partially searchable. Student newspaper of the College of William and Mary.
Free Lance Star (1920-present)
Fredericksburg, Virginia newspaper.
Race and Place: Newspapers (1921-1978)
Partially transcribed articles from the Richmond Planet and Charlottesville Reflector.
The Reflector (1933-1935)
African-American newspaper published in Charlottesville. Links to transcriptions of selected articles.
Richmond Afro American (1947)
52 issues.
Richmond Daily Dispatch (1860-1865)
Considered non-partisan, this was the most widely read newspaper in Richmond during the Civil War.
Virginia Newspaper Project
Text-only collection of articles.
Small Town Newspapers (1989-2012)
• Clinch Valley Times, St. Paul (2009-12)
• The King George Journal, King George (1989, 2009-10, 2012)
• The Westmoreland Journal, King George (1990, 2009-10, 2012)
Staunton Specatator (1857-1870)
Whig newspaper in Augusta County. Excerpts.
Staunton Vindicator (1859-1870)
Democratic newspaper in Augusta County. Excerpts.
The Times Dispatch (1903-1914)
Richmond newspaper. Includes links to predecessors the Daily Dispatch (1850-1884) and the Richmond Dispatch (1884-1903).
Valley Virginian (1865-1870)
Augusta County newspaper. Excerpts.
Virginia Gazette (1736-1780)
Williamsburg, Virginia newspaper.
Winchester Virginian (September 5, 1855 - October 31, 1873)

Washington D.C.

The American Eagle (1925-2004)
Armory Square Hospital Gazette (1864-1865)
One of the five DC-area hospital newspapers published during the Civil War.
Chronicling America (1860-1921)
Includes: The Colored American (African American Newspaper), The Evening Times, The Hatchet, The National Forum, The Suburban Citizen, The Sunday Globe, Sunday Morning Globe, Sunday Washington Globe, The Washington Bee, The Washington Herald, Washington Sentinel, Washington Times, Washington Weekly Post, The Weekly News (Anacostia), and the Alexandria Gazette.
Georgetown Hoya (1959-1980)
Student newspaper of Georgetown University
National Era (1847-1860)
African American newspaper.
The National Tribune (1877- 1917)
Founded as a newspaper for Civil War veterans and their families.
The Stars and Stripes (1918-1919)
Paper published by the U.S. Army for its forces in France.
Washington Afro-American (1916-1988)
African American newspaper. Incomplete run.

Washington State

Allyn Times (November 21, 1889 - October 8, 1891)
38 issues
Chronicling America (1888-1922)
Ellensburg Daily Record (1910-2005)
Ellensburg is a city of about 18,000 in central Washington.
Kimble Northwest History Database (19th and early 20th centuries)
Clippings collection. According to the website, "the newspaper articles were collected and organized in the late 1930's by dedicated historians working for the Works Progress Administration. "
Port Townsend Leader (1903-1910)
Port Townsend has a population of roughly 8,000 people and is on the northern coast of the Olympic Peninsula.
Small Town Newspapers (1908-2012)
more...less...
• Arlington Times, Marysville
• Belfair Herald, Shelton
• Boomerang! Palouse
• Cheney Free Press, Cheney
• Deer Park Tribune, Deer Park
• Dispatch-Eatonville, Eatonville
• Edmonds Beacon, Mukilteo
• Goldendale Sentinel, Goldendale
• Issaquah Press, Issaquah
• Marysville Globe, Marysville
• Mattawa Area News, Mattawa
• Mt. Adams Sun, Bingen
• Mukilteo Beacon, Mukilteo
• Newcastle News, Issaquah
• News & Standard, Coulee City
• Othello Outlook, Othello
• Quad City Herald, Brewster
• Quincy Valley Post-Register, Quincy
• Ritzville Adams County Journal, Ritzville
• Sammamish Review, Issaquah
• Shelton-Mason County Journal, Shelton
• South County Sun, Royal City
• South Grant County Washington Sun, Royal City
• Star Grand, Coulee
• Wahkiakum County Eagle, Cathlamet
• West Seattle Herald, Burien
• Woodinville Weekly
Spokane Daily Chronicle (1884-1982)
Spokesman-Review (1889-2007)
“The most comprehensive news source for Spokane and the Inland Northwest."
University of Washington Student Newspapers
more...less...
•Independent— November 1993 to February 1996
•Ledger— November 1996 to December 2005
•Daily— September 1967 to February 1968
•Commons— October 1995 to April 1997
The Vancouver Independent, Clark County (January 8, 1876 - December 26, 1878)
Washington Historic Newspapers (1852-1892)
more...less...
Newspapers from:
• Columbian (1852-1853)
• Lynden Pioneer Press (1888-1890)
• Northern Star (1876-1879)
• Puget Sound Argus (1882-1883)
• Puget Sound Courier (1855-1856)
• Puget Sound Dispatch (1871-1880)
• Puget Sound Herald (1858-1864)
• Puget Sound Mail (1879-1884)
• Puget Sound Semi-Weekly (1866-1866)
• Puget Sound Weekly (1866-1867)
• Puget Sound Weekly Argus (1876, 1876-1882)
• Puget Sound Weekly Gazette (1867-1867)
• Seattle Gazette (1863-1864)
• Seattle Weekly Gazette (1864-1866)
• Spokane Falls Review (1883-1890)
• Spokane Times (1879-1882)
• Truth Tell (1858-1858)
• Vancouver Register (1865-1869)
• Washington Gazette (1863-1863)
• Washington Pioneer (1853-1854)
• Washington Statesman (1861-1864)
• Walla Walla Statesman (1864-1884)
• Weekly Argus (1870-1875)
• Yakima Herald (1889-1992)
The Woodinville Weekly Jan 7, 1882 - Apr 16, 2009
The Withrow Banner (January 2, 1858 - December 30, 1911)

West Virginia

Small Town Newspapers (1921-2012)
• Braxton Citizens News, Sutton (2009-2012)
• The Brooke County Review, Wellsburg (1996, 1998, 200-2003, 2009-2012)
• Farmers Advocate, Charles Town (1921-1922, 1925-1928)
• The Glenville Democrat, Glenville (1976-1978, 2012)
• Grant County Press, Petersburg (2009-2012)
• The Hinton News, Hinton (1979-1982, 1991-2003, 2009-2012)
• The Morgan Messenger, Berkeley Springs (2009-2012)
• Mountain Messenger, Lewisburg (1991-1993, 2009-2012)
• The Pennsboro News, Harrisville (2011-2012)
• Pleasants County Leader, St. Marys (1960-1961, 1965, 1970, 1975)
• The Pocahontas Times, Marlinton (1976-1977, 1982, 1994, 2003, 2009-2012)
• The Preston County Journal, Kingwood (2009-20012)
• Roane County Reporter, Spencer (1925, 2003-2004)
• Spirit of Jefferson Farmers Advocate, Charles Town (1988-1990, 2009-2012)
• The St. Marys Oracle, St. Marys (1967, 1972, 1982, 2009-2012)
• The Times Record, Spencer (2003-200
Williamson Daily News (January 1, 1948 - September 30, 2000)
Wirt County Journal (February 1, 2006 - April 15, 2009)

Wisconsin

Small Town Newspapers (2009-2012)
• The Blair Press Alma Center, Blair (coming soon)
• The Blair Press Taylor, Blair (2009-2012)
Waukesha Newspaper Archives (1846-1955)
Wisconsin Local History and Biography Articles (1860-1940)
Over 16,000 articles about biographical and local subjects excerpted from several hundred newspapers.

Wyoming

Small Town Newspapers (1934-2012) Newspapers from:
more...less...
• Columbian (1852-1853)
• Lynden Pioneer Press (1888-1890)
• Northern Star (1876-1879)
• Puget Sound Argus (1882-1883)
• Puget Sound Courier (1855-1856)
• Puget Sound Dispatch (1871-1880)
• Puget Sound Herald (1858-1864)
• Puget Sound Mail (1879-1884)
• Puget Sound Semi-Weekly (1866-1866)
• Puget Sound Weekly (1866-1867)
• Puget Sound Weekly Argus (1876, 1876-1882)
• Puget Sound Weekly Gazette (1867-1867)
• Seattle Gazette (1863-1864)
• Seattle Weekly Gazette (1864-1866)
• Spokane Falls Review (1883-1890)
• Spokane Times (1879-1882)• Truth Tell (1858-1858)
• Vancouver Register (1865-1869)
• Washington Gazette (1863-1863)
• Washington Pioneer (1853-1854)
• Washington Statesman (1861-1864)
• Walla Walla Statesman (1864-1884)
• Weekly Argus (1870-1875)
• Yakima Herald (1889-1992)
Wyoming Newspaper Project (1849-1922)
"Available through this website are all the newspapers printed in Wyoming between 1849 and 1922".

Online Historical Newspapers: A - Z list of states

Alabama

Alaska

Arizona

Arkansas

California

Colorado

Connecticut

Delaware

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland

Massachusetts

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oregon

Pennsylvania

Puerto Rico

Rhode Island

South Carolina

Tennessee

Texas

Utah

Vermont

Virgin Islands Newspapers

Virginia

Washington D.C.

Washington State

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming