Online Historical Newspapers: Southern States

166 issues

Excerpts only. This seems to be a digitized selected 'clippings file' meant to support research into the history of Birmingham.

Newspaper published by Avondale Mills (Birmingham) for its employees.

This collection contains the Birmingham Iron Age, The Weekly Iron Age, The Weekly Age, and the Pratt City Herald newspapers spanning the years 1874-1901.

Jacksonville State University student newspaper.

Memphis Appeal (1857-1876), more forthcoming.

Northeastern Alabama newspaper. Includes link to 143-page PDF file with an index of proper names found in the paper.

• Clay News, Pinson (not available)
• The Democrat-Reporter, Linden (2009-12)
• The Florala News, Florala (2009-12)
• The Lamar Democrat and Sulligent News, Vernon (1998-2001, 2011-12)
• The Pinson News & Jefferson Countain, Pinson (available soon)
• Thomasville News, Thomasville (1996-98)
• The Tuskegee News, Tuskegee (2009-12)

Weekly newspaper founded to cover the Civil Rights Movement. Complete run.

DeWitt Era-Enterprise DeWitt, Arkansas (2010-12)

Includes The Boca Raton News (1955-1970), The Pelican (1948-1953), The Weekly Tattler (1938), and more.

Bulk consists of the St. Cloud Tribune.

Includes over 30 newspapers, including The DeSoto County News, The Champion (Arcadia), The Florida Agriculturalist (DeLand - An agricultural journal devoted to "state interests"), Gainesville Daily Sun, The New Enterprise (Madison), The Pensacola Journal, The Punta Gorda Herald, and many more.

• Army and navy chronicle (1835-1842)
• Buccaneer (Vero Beach, Florida) ( 28 issues )
• Coastal courier ( 3 issues )
• Daily military review (April 11, 1890)
• Drew Field echoes. ( 97 items )
• Eglin flyer ( 5 issues )
• Gosport (Pensacola, Fla.) ( 12 items )
• Guantánamo Bay gazette ( 275 issues )
• Gulf Defender ( 31 issues )
• Hurlburt patriot ( 5 issues )
• Jax air news. ( 1990 issues )
• Kings Bay periscope ( 116 issues )
• Military musings (December 1, 1886)
• Mirror (Mayport, FL) ( 147 issues )
• Missileer ( 50 issues )
• PS the preventive maintenance monthly ( 60 items )
• The Responder : Joint Task Force Haiti Newsletter ( 23 issues )
• Southernmost flyer / ( 34 issues )
• Spaceport news ( 25 items )
• Tyndall target. ( 117 items )

Extensive geographic and chronological coverage, but many of the papers represented have short runs.

Newspaper articles ABOUT Florida from a wide range of newspapers.

Lakeland is in central Florida, east of Tampa.

Ocala is a city of 53,000 located in Marion County, about 100 miles northeast of Tampa and 75 miles northwest of Orlando.

Sarasota is a city of 53,000 located south of Tampa on Florida's Gulf Coast.

• The Calhoun-Liberty Journal, Bristol (2003-05, 2009-12)
• The DeFuniak Springs Herald, Defuniak Springs (2003-04, 2009-12)
• FSView & Florida Flambeau, Tallahassee (1923-37, 2009-11)
• Heritage Florida Jewish News, Fern Park (1976-80, 2009-12)

See also the Daily Miami Metropolis (1904-1907)

8,607 issues

680 issues

Includes the Athenian, 1827-1832; Southern Banner, 1832-1882; Southern Watchman, 1855-1882; Daily/Weekly Banner-Watchman, 1882-1889; Daily/Weekly Athens Banner, 1889-1922.
NOTE: You may need to install the free DjVu plugin in order to view the newspapers.

Includes the Atlanta Daily Examiner, 1857; Atlanta Daily Herald, 1873-1876; Atlanta Georgian, 1906-1911; Atlanta Intelligencer, 1851 and 1854-1871; Atlantian, 1911-1922; Daily/Georgia Weekly Opinion, 1867-1868; Gate-City Guardian, 1861; Georgia Literary and Temperance Crusader, 1860-1861; New Era, 1869-1872; Southern Confederacy, 1861-1864; Southern Miscellany and Upper Georgia Whig, 1847; Southern World, 1882-1885; Sunny South, 1875-1907; and Weekly Constitution, 1869-1882.
NOTE: You may need to install the free DjVu plugin in order to view the newspapers.

Missing 1919 and 1920.

Printed in New Echota, capital of the Cherokee Nation, in what is now Georgia, this was the first native American Indian newspaper.

A weekly newspaper until 1859, when it became daily. "During its earliest issues, the paper supported the ideological cause of state's rights, demonstrated by the quote used in its title banner: 'The Union of the States, and the Sovereignty of the States'...the Enquirer supported Whig politicians for office, including Henry Clay and Zachary Taylor. The paper began publishing on a daily basis in 1859. Two years later, the Enquirer was faced with the possibility of Southern secession, and broke with many other prominent newspapers of the time in calling for cooperation with the North, but quickly aligned itself with Georgia once secession became official."
NOTE: You may need to install the free DjVu plugin in order to view the newspapers.

An African American newspaper based in Savannah. Coverage consists of only three issues from March and April, 1876.

A Civil War-era paper "published in the Country, on a Southern Plantation, and Devoted to the Editor's Opinions."

Dublin is in central Georgia, roughly halfway between Atlanta and Savannah.

• The collection includes:
• The Technite (1926-1932)
• The Evening Signal (1933-1943),
• The Junior Collegiate (1935-1943)
• The Signal (1943-)

An underground newspaper published in Atlanta.

Macon, located in central Georgia, is the seventh most populous city in the state and has long been one of the largest outside of Atlanta.

Milledgeville, was the antebellum capital of Georgia from 1804 until the late 1860s. Titles include: Federal Union, 1830-1872; Future Citizen, 1914-1916; Georgia Argus, 1810-1815; Georgia Journal, 1809-1845; Milledgeville Intelligencer, 1808; Milledgeville News, 1909-1922; Reflector, 1817-1819; Southern Recorder, 1820-1872; Southron, 1828; Standard of Union, 1836-1841; Union Recorder, 1872-1920.

Searchable issues of the student newspaper of the University of Georgia, located in Athens.

Daily newspaper from Georgia’s 19th-largest city.

• The Clinch County News, Homerville (1929, 1937, 1944, 1953, 1967, 1971, 1989, 1991, 2001-02, 2009, 2012)
• The Harris County Journal, Hamilton (2009-12)
• The Hogansville Home News, Manchester (1999-2003, 2009-12)
• The Jones County News, Gray (1973, 1980, 1990, 2004-05, 2009-12)
• The Manchester Star-Mercury, Manchester (2009-12)
• The Meriwether Vindicator, Manchester (2009-12)
• The Monroe County Reporter, Forsyth (1999, 2004-05, 2009-12)
• The Talbotton New Era, Tallbotton (2005)

• • Albany Herald, 1892-1893, 1900-1901, 1906
• Albany News, 1867-1892
• Albany Patriot, 1845-1866
• Americus Times Recorder, 1881-1921
• Bainbridge Democrat, 1872-1909
• Bainbridge Search Light/Post-Search Light, 1901-1922
• Brunswick Advertiser/Advertiser and Appeal, 1875-1889
• Cuthbert Appeal, 1866-1886
• Sumter Republican (Americus), 1870-1885
• Thomasville Times Enterprise, 1873-1922
• Tifton Gazette, 1892-1919
• Valdosta Times, 1905-1912
• Vienna News, 1902-1918
• Waycross Headlight, 1884-1887
• Waycross Herald, 1892-1914
• Waycross Journal, 1901-1914

"Rabbi H. Cerf Straus established the Southern Israelite as a temple bulletin in Augusta in 1925. The publication was so popular, he expanded it into a monthly newspaper. Later in the decade, Straus sold the paper to Herman Dessauer and Sara B. Simmons, who moved the paper to Atlanta, where it began circulating state-wide and eventually throughout the South."

More than fifty newspapers available. Some with short runs.

Bourbon News, Central Record, Adair County News, Bluegrass Blade (Lexington), and dozens more.

• The Bath County News – Outlook, Owingsville (2002-04, 2009-12)
• The Harrodsburg Herald, Harrodsburg (2009-12)
• Hart Countys Newspaper News-Herald, Horse Cave (2005, 2009-12)
• Leader-News, Greenville (1952-53, 2006, 2009)
• Letcher County Community News-Press, Cromona (2009-12)
• The Ohio County Times-News, Hartford (1966, 1975, 2006, 2009)
• The Sebree Banner, Sebree (2009-12)
• The Times-Argus, Central City (1954, 2009-10)

11 issues

Includes the Ouachita Telegraph (Monroe), Morning Star and Catholic Sentinel (New Orleans), Louisiana Democrat (Alexandria), and dozens more.

Incomplete run. A dual language French-English newspaper.

A small number of early publications from all of Louisiana's parishes.

A French-English dual language newspaper (also known as L’Abeille de la Nouvelle-Orléans) from 1827-1872, after which English was dropped and it became French only . The images are arranged chronologically as PDF files and are not keyword searchable.

Incomplete run.

• The Banner, Bernice (2009-12)
• Gonzales Weekly Citizen, Gonzales (1926-28)
• The Jena Times, Jena (2008-12)
• The Ponchatoula Times, Ponchatoula (1983-86, 2009-12)

White supremacist newspaper published in Jackson. Browsable by date but not searchable.

• Holmes County Herald, Lexington (1991-1992, 2009-2012)
• The Southern Herald, Liberty (1985-1986, 1989, 2009-2012)
• Stone County Enterprise, Wiggins (1985-1986, 1989, 2009-2012)
• The Woodville Republican, Woodville (1887-1888, 1898-1899, 2009-2012)

Student paper at the University of Missouri that includes many AP and UPI articles that ran nationally.

Includes Methodist, Whig, Republican and Civil War-era newspapers.

African-American Newspaper published in St. Louis, Missouri.

• Cuba Free Press, Cuba (1961, 2003-04)
• The Excelsior Springs Standard, Excelsior Springs (1997, 2000, 2009)
• Monroe County Appeal, Paris (1965, 1975, 1985, 1995, 2009-12)
• Press-News Journal, Canton (1978, 1985)

1,482 issues

Student newspaper of Davidson College, which is located near Charlotte.

Collection of over 50 North Carolina newspapers. Includes the Fayetteville Observer (1851-1865), The Pilot (Southern Pines, 1929-1943), Mecklenburg Jeffersonian (Charlotte, 1841-1849), Black Ink (Black Student Movement, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1969-2001), The Charlotte Jewish News (1979-2000, 2009, 2011), and student papers from Bennett College, Elon University, Louisburg College, UNC-Wilmington, and Fayetteville State University, among others.

Collection of North Carolina newspapers, featuring The Wilmington Post Boy (1756-1766), Carolina (Salisbury) Watchman (1832- 1898), and other mainly 18th century newspapers from Edenton, Fayetteville, Hillsboro, New Bern, Salisbury and Wilmington.

• Kenly News, Kenly (1978, 1985, 1989, 2009-12)
• The Southerner, Welcome (2009-12)
• Spring Hope Enterprise, Spring Hope (1957-58, 1978, 1982, 1988, 1992, 1998, 2009-12)
• The Sylva Herald and Rualite, Slyva (1977-79, 2009-12)

6,622 issues

9,477 issues

113 issues

Beaver Herald, Branding Iron, Cheyenne Transporter, Farmers' Champion, The Indian Advocate, The Indian Chieftain, Oklahoma Miner, etc.

Downloadable PDFs. McAlester, located 90 miles south of Tulsa and 120 miles southeast of Oklahoma City, is a major trade center for Southeast Oklahoma and is one of the state's oldest communities. Unique attractions include the beautiful, historic McAlester Scottish Rite Masonic Temple and the Oklahoma State Penitentiary Museum, which chronicles famous inmates, early chain gangs and prison escapes. The nearby town of Krebs is known as Oklahoma's Little Italy and is famous for its cuisine.

• The American, Fairland (2009-12)
• The Boise City News, Boise City (1942-43, 2009-10)
• Drumright Gusher, Drumright (2002)
• Heavener Ledger, Heavener(2005, 2009-12)
• The Nowata Star, Nowata (2005, 2009-12)
• The Perkins Journal, Perkins (2009-12)
• Stillwater Journal, Perkins (2009-12)
• The Thomas Tribune, Thomas (1954, 1969, 1971, 1981, 2001-02, 2009-12)
• Valliant Leader, Valliant (available soon)

Includes the Columbia Phoenix, Charleston Advocate, and many more.

Loris is a small town in the far northeastern part of the state, near the North Carolina border.

Civil War era paper documenting the South Carolina low country, based first in Port Royal and later in Beaufort.

• The Columbia Star, Columbia (2003-04)
• Horry Independent, Conway (2003-04, 2009-12)
• The Loris Scene, Loris (2009-12)
• Loris Sentinel, Conway (not available)

The News-Democrat Waverly, Tennessee (1959, 1967, 1970, 1985, 2009-2012)

Includes the Abilene Daily Reporter, Abilene Reporter, Abilene Semi-Weekly Farm Reporter, and the Abilene Semi-Weekly Reporter.

Jefferson Jimplecute, Jewish Herald (Houston), Palestine Daily Herald, Fort Worth Daily Gazette, The Daily Herald (Brownsville).

Student newspapers of Trinity College.

"Dedicated to the Service of the People and the Institutions of Carthage and Panola County." Panola County is on the Louisiana border in eastern Texas, about halfway between Texarkana and Nacogdoches.

Scattered runs of multiple newspapers.

• Alvord Sunset Gazette, Alvord (available soon)
• Bulverde Standard, Canyon Lake (1986, 2009-10)
• Burnet Bulletin, Burnet (1983, 1993, 2001-03, 2009-12)
• The Clarendon Enterprise, Clarendon (1973, 1983, 1992, 1994, 2003-04, 2009-12)
• The Clay County Leader, Henrietta (1996-2006, 2009-11)
• East Bernard Express, East Bernard (2009-12)
• Edgewood Enterprise, Grand Saline (1976, 1978, 1982, 2009-11)
• Grand Saline Sun, Grand Saline (2009-12)
• The Groesbeck Journal, Groesbeck (available soon)
• The Hansford County Reporter-Statesman, Spearman (2009-12)
• Hays Free Press, Kyle (2003, 2009-12)
• The Lakelander, Whitney (2009-12)
• The Malakoff News, Malakoff (2001-05, 2009-12)
• The Munday Courier, Munday (2009-12)
• The Stonewall County Courier, Aspermont (2001-05, 2009-12)
• Trammel Trace Tribune, Tatum (2009-12)
• The Twin Cities News, Munday (1990, 1992)

Abilene is the primary urban center in Taylor County.

• Weimar Gimlet (1885 – 1888)
• Weimar Daily Gimlet (1887 – 1888)
• Weimar Daily Informer (1887 – 1887)
• Weimar Mercury (1889 – 1980)
• Weimar Daily Tribune (1898 – 1898)
• Colorado Citizen (1857 – 1980)
• Eagle Lake Headlight (1921 – 1980)

Wichita County is in northern Texas, along the Oklahoma border.

Alexandria Gazette, Richmond Dispatch, Richmond Planet, more.

University of Richmond student newspaper.

Only partially searchable. Student newspaper of the College of William and Mary.

Fredericksburg, Virginia newspaper.

Partially transcribed articles from the Richmond Planet and Charlottesville Reflector.

African-American newspaper published in Charlottesville. Links to transcriptions of selected articles.

52 issues.

Considered non-partisan, this was the most widely read newspaper in Richmond during the Civil War.

Text-only collection of articles.

• Clinch Valley Times, St. Paul (2009-12)
• The King George Journal, King George (1989, 2009-10, 2012)
• The Westmoreland Journal, King George (1990, 2009-10, 2012)

Whig newspaper in Augusta County. Excerpts.

Democratic newspaper in Augusta County. Excerpts.

Richmond newspaper. Includes links to predecessors the Daily Dispatch (1850-1884) and the Richmond Dispatch (1884-1903).

Augusta County newspaper. Excerpts.

Williamsburg, Virginia newspaper.

• Braxton Citizens News, Sutton (2009-2012)
• The Brooke County Review, Wellsburg (1996, 1998, 200-2003, 2009-2012)
• Farmers Advocate, Charles Town (1921-1922, 1925-1928)
• The Glenville Democrat, Glenville (1976-1978, 2012)
• Grant County Press, Petersburg (2009-2012)
• The Hinton News, Hinton (1979-1982, 1991-2003, 2009-2012)
• The Morgan Messenger, Berkeley Springs (2009-2012)
• Mountain Messenger, Lewisburg (1991-1993, 2009-2012)
• The Pennsboro News, Harrisville (2011-2012)
• Pleasants County Leader, St. Marys (1960-1961, 1965, 1970, 1975)
• The Pocahontas Times, Marlinton (1976-1977, 1982, 1994, 2003, 2009-2012)
• The Preston County Journal, Kingwood (2009-20012)
• Roane County Reporter, Spencer (1925, 2003-2004)
• Spirit of Jefferson Farmers Advocate, Charles Town (1988-1990, 2009-2012)
• The St. Marys Oracle, St. Marys (1967, 1972, 1982, 2009-2012)
• The Times Record, Spencer (2003-200