Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open access scholarly research and books
All About Birds
This multimedia website from the Cornell Lab of Ornithology has tips on identifying, watching, and attracting birds.
Louis Agassiz Fuertes Illustration Collection
The Cornell University Library's Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections has collected and made electronically available more than 2,500 images of artist-naturalist Louis Agassiz Fuertes.
The Macaulay Library boasts the largest archive of wildlife sounds and videos, and has recordings of more than 75% of the world's birds.
National Science Digital Library
This website compiles resources for science, technology, engineering, and math educators.
Devoted entirely to bird sounds, this database is maintained by the Netherland's Xeno Canto Foundation.
Government and nonprofit publications and data sets
This umbrella nonprofit joins 120 conservation nonprofit organizations across the globe and in conservation partnership.
The synthesis of public-sourced, quality controlled data into a simple interface has propelled eBird into the premier citizen-science ornithology database.
Global Raptor Information Network (GRIN)
Supported by the nonprofit Peregrine Fund, this site connects professional ornithologists specializing in birds of prey.
National Audubon Society
Started in 1900, the annual Christmas Bird Count project is the longest-running citizen science project, and the data from these counts are available.
Partners in Flight
This nonprofit organization makes large amounts of data available to the general public through its two major databases, The Species Database and the Population Estimates Database.
United States Fish and Wildlife Service Migratory Bird Program
This federal government program aims to protect, restore, and conserve birds across the nation, and has many publications and data sets available.
Blogs, email lists, and wikis
American Birding Association (ABA)
This nonprofit organization is dedicated to serving recreational birders, and tools for researchers can be found under the 'Publications' tab of the website.
Dan Tallman's Ornithology Course
Retired ornithology professor Dan Tallman received his Ph.D. from Louisiana State University and has made his undergraduate-level lecture notes freely available in blog format.
Self-proclaimed "Fat Birder" Bo Beolens has compiled this easily navigable website whose stand-out feature is a list of bird-related podcasts under the "Sight, Sound, Equipment" tab.
The Multilingual Birdsearch Engine
Common bird names vary by language, and this language translation wiki outstrips Google Translate.