Banned and Challenged Books

1. All Boys Aren't Blue, by George M. Johnson (Reasons: LGBTQIA+ content, sexually explicit)

2. Gender Queer: A Memoir, by Maia Kobabe (Reasons: LGBTQIA+ content, sexually explicit)

3. The Bluest Eye, by Toni Morrison (Reasons: depictions of sexual assault and incest, sexually explicit, EDI content)

4. The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky (Reasons: sexually explicit, LGBTQIA+ content, depiciton of sexual assualt and drug use, profanity)

5. Tricks, by Ellen Hopkins (Reasons: sexually explicit)

6. Looking for Alaska, John Green (Reasons: Sexually explicit)

7. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, by Jesse Andrews (Reasons: sexually explicit, profanity)

8. Crank, by Ellen Hopkins (Reasons: sexually explicit, depictions of drug use)

9. Sold, by Patricia McCormick (sexually explicit, depiction of sexual assault)

10. Flamer, by Mike Curato (LGBTQIA+ content, sexually explicit)

1. Gender Queer, By Maia Kobabe (Reasons: LGBTQIA+ content, sexually explicit)

2. All Boys Aren't Blue, by George M. Johnson (Reasons: LGBTQIA+ content, sexually explicit)

3. This Book Is Gay, by Juno Dawson (Reasons: LGBTQIA+ content, sexually explicit)

4. The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky (Reasons: sexually explicit, LGBTQIA+ content, rape, drugs, profanity)

5. Flamer, by Mike Curato (Reasons: LGBTQIA+ content, sexually explicit)

6. The Bluest Eye, by Toni Morrison (rape, incest, sexually explicit, EDI content)

7. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, by Jesse Andrews (Reasons: sexually explicit, profanity)

8. Tricks, by Ellen Hopkins (sexually explicit, drugs, rape, LGBTQIA+ content)

9. Let's Talk About It: The Teen's Guide to Sex, Relationships, and Being a Human, by Erika Moen and Matthew Nolan (Reasons: sexually explicit, sex education, LGBTQIA+ content)

10. Sold, by Patricia McCormick (Reasons: sexually explicit, rape)

ALA Censorship Infographic for 2022

1. Gender Queer, By Maia Kobabe (Reasons: LGBTQIA+ content, sexually explicit)

2. All Boys Aren't Blue, by George M. Johnson (Reasons: LGBTQIA+ content, sexually explicit)

3. The Bluest Eyes, by Toni Morrison (Reasons: depiction of sexual abuse, EDI content, sexually explicit)

4. Flamer, by Mike Curato (Reasons: LGBTQIA+ content, sexually explicit)

5. Looking for Alaska, by John Green (Reasons: LGBTQIA+ content, sexually explicit)

6. The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky (Reasons: depiction of sexual abuse, LGBTQIA+ content, drug use, profanity, sexually explicit)

7. Lawn Boy, by Jonathan Evison (Reasons: LGBTQIA+ content, sexually explicit)

8. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie (Reasons: profanity, sexually explicit)

9. Out of Darkness, by Ashley Hope Perez (Reasons: depictions of abuse, sexually explicit)

10. A Court of Mist and Fury, by Sarah J. Maas (Reasons: sexually explicit)

11. Crank, by Ellen Hopkins (Reasons: drug use, sexually explicit)

12. Me and Earl and the Dying, by Jesse Andrews (Reasons: profanity, sexually explicit)

13. This Book Is Gay, by Juno Dawson (Reasons: LGBTQIA+ content, providing sexual education, sexually explicit)

ALA Censorship Infographic for 2021

1. Gender Queer, by Maia Kobabe (Reasons: includes LGBTQIA+ content, sexually explicit images)

2. Lawn Boy, by Jonathan Evison (Reasons: includes LGBTQIA+ content, sexually explicit)

3. All Boy Aren't Blue, by George M. Johnson (Reasons: includes LGBTQIA+ content, profanity, sexually explicit)

4. Out of Darkness, by Ashely Hope Perez (Reasons: depictions of abuse, sexually explicit)

5. The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas (Reasons: profanity, violence, promotes anti-police message, indoctrination of a social agenda)

6. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie (Reasons: profanity, sexual references, use of derogatory term)

7. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, by Jesse Andrews (Reasons: sexually explicit, degrading to wmen)

8. The Bluest Eye, by Toni Morrison (Reasons: depicts child sexual abuse, sexually explicit)

9. This Book is Gay, by Juno Dawson (Reasons: providing sexual education, includes LGBTQIA+ content)

10. Beyond Magenta, by Susan Kuklin (Reasons: includes LGBTQIA+ content, sexually explicit)

ALA Censorship Infographic for 2020

1. George, by Alex Gino (Reasons: includes LGBTQIA+ content, religious viewpoints, not reflecting "the values of our community")

2. Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You, by Ibram X. Kendi and Jason Reynolds (Reasons: author's public statements, claims that book cotains "selective storytelling incidents", does not encompass racism against all people)

3. All American Boys, by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely (Reasons: profanity, drug use, alcoholism, promotes anti-police views, contains divisive topics, "too much of a sensitive matter right now")

4. Speak, by Laurie Halse Anderson (Reasons: political viewpoints, biased against male students, inclusion of rape and profanity)

5. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie (Reasons: profanity, sexual references, allegations of sexual misconduct by author)

6. Something Happened in Our Town: A Child's Story About Racial Injustice, by Marianne Celano, Marietta Collins, and Ann Hazzard (Reasons: "divisive language", promotes anti-police views)

7. To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee (Reasons: racial slurs, negative effect on students, features a "white savior" character, perception of experience)

8. Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck (Reasons: racial slurs, racist stereotypes, negative effect on students)

9. The Bluest Eye, by Toni Morrison (Reasons: sexually explicit, depicts child sexual abuse)

10. The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas (Reasons: profanity, promote anti-police message)

ALA Censorship Infographic for 2019

1. George, by Alex Gino (Reasons: includes LGBTQIA+ content, includes transgender character, schools and libraries should not "put books in a child's hand that require discussion", sexual references, religious viewpoint, "traditional family structure" conflict)

2. Beyond Magenta: Transgender Teens Speak Out, by Susan Kuklin (Reasons: includes LGBTQIA+ content, "its effect on any young people who would read it", sexually explicit, biased)

3. A Day in the Life of Marion Bundo, by Jill Twiss (Reasons: includes LGBTQIA+ content, political viewpoints, it is "designed to pollute the morals of its readers", not including a content warning)

4. Sex is a Funny Word, by Cory Silverberg (Reasons: includes LGBTQIA+ content, gender identity, sex education, concerns that title and illustrations are "inappropriate")

5. Prince & Knight, by Daniel Haack (Reasons: includes gay marriage and LGBTQIA+ content, being "a deliberate attempt to indoctrinate young children", cause confusion, curiosity, gender dysphoria, religious viewpoints)

6. I Am Jazzy, by Jessica Herthel and Jazz Jennings (Reasons: includes LGBTQIA+ content, includes transgender character, confronting a topic that is "sensitive, controversial, and politically charged")

7. The Handmaid's Tale, by Margaret Atwood (Reasons: profanity, "vulgarity and sexual overtones")

8. Drama, by Raina Telgemeier (Reasons: includes LGBTQIA+ content, it goes against "family values/morals")

9. Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling (Reasons: refers to magic and witchcraft, contains actual curses and spells, characters use "nefarious means" to attain goals)

10. And Tango Makes Three, by Peter Parnell and Justin Richardson (Reasons: includes LGBTQIA+ content)

ALA Censorship Infographic for 2018

1. George, by Alex Gino (Reasons: encourages children to clear browser history and change their bodies using hormones, mentions "dirty magazines", describes male anatomy, "creating confusion", includes transgender character)

2. A Day in the Life of Marlon Bundo, by Jill Twiss (Reasons: LGBTQIA+ content, political and religious viewpoints)

3. Captain Underpants series, by Dav Pilkey (Reasons: encouraging disruptive behavior, includes same-sex couple)

4. The Hate U Give, Angie Thomas (Reasons: "anti-cop", profanity, drug use, sexual references)

5. Drama, by Raina Telgemeier (Reasons: LGBTQIA+ characters and themes)

6. Thirteen Reasons Why, by Jay Asher (Reasons: teen suicide)

7. This One Summer, by Mariko Tamaki (Reasons: profanity, sexual references, certain illustrations)

8. Skippyjon Jones series, by Judy Schachner (Reasons: depicting stereotypes of Mexican culture)

9. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie (Reasons: sexual references, profanity, violence, gambling, underage drinking, religious viewpoints)

10. Two Boys Kissing, by David Levithan (Reasons: includes LGBTQIA+ content)

ALA Censorship Infographic for 2017

1. Thirteen Reasons Why, by Jay Asher (Reasons: suicide)

2. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie (Reasons: poverty, alcoholism, sexuality, profanity, sexually explicit)

3. Drama, by Raina Telgemeier (Reasons: includes LGBT characters, "confusing")

4. The Kite Runner, by Khaled Hosseini (Reasons: sexual violence, "lead to terrorism", "promote Islam")

5. George, by Alex Gino (Reasons: includes transgender child)

6. Sex is a Funny Word, by Cory Silverberg (Reasons: sex education, lead children to "want to have sex or ask questions about sex")

7. To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee (Reasons: violence, use of the N-word)

8. The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas (Reasons: "pervasively vulgar", drug use, profanity, offensive language)

9. And Tango Makes Three, by Peter Parnell and Justin Richardson (Reasons: same-sex relationship)

10. I Am Jazz, by Jessica Herthel and Jazz Jennings (Reasons: gender identity)

ALA Censorship Infographic for 2016

1. This One Summer, by Mariko Tamaki (Reasons: includes LGBT characters, drug use, profanity, sexually explicit with mature themes)

2. Drama, by Raina Telgemeier (Reasons: includes LGBT characters, sexually explicit, offensive political viewpoint)

3. George, by Alex Gino (Reasons: includes a transgender child, "sexuality was not appropriate at elementary levels")

4. I Am Jazz, by Jessica Herthel and Jazz Jennings (Reasons: includes a transgender child, language, sex education, offensive viewpoints)

5. Two Boys Kissing, by David Levithan (Reasons: includes an image of two boys kissing, sexually explicit, LGBT content)

6. Looking for Alaska, by John Green (Reasons: sexually explicit that may lead students to "sexually experiment")

7. Big Hard Sex Criminals, by Matt Fraction (Reasons: sexually explicit)

8. Make Something Up: Stories You Can't Unread, by Chuck Palahniuk (Reasons: profanity, sexual explicitness, "disgusting and all around offensive")

9. Little Bill (series), by Bill Cosby (Reasons: criminal sexual allegations against the author)

10. Eleanor & Park, by Rainbow Rowell (Reasons: offensive language)

ALA Censorship Infographic for 2015

1. Looking for Alaska, by John Green (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited for age group)

2. Fifty Shades of Grey, by E.L. James (Reasons: sexually explicit, unsuited to age group, poorly written, concerns that a group of teenagers will want to try it)

3. I Am Jazz, by Jessical Herthel and Jazz Jennings (Reasons: inaccurate, homosexuality, sex education, religious viewpoint, unsuited for age group)

4. Beyond Magenta: Transgender Teens Speak Out, by Susan Kuklin (Reasons: anti-family, offensive language, homosexuality, sex education, political viewpoint, religious viewpoint, unsuited for age group, wants to remove from collection to ward off complaints)

5. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, by Mark Haddon (Reasons: offensive language, religious viewpoint, unsuited for age group, profanity and atheism)

6. The Holy Bible (Reasons: religious viewpoint)

7. Fun Home, by Alison Bechdel (Reasons: violence and graphic images)

8. Habibi, by Craig Thompson (Reasons: nudity, sexually explicit, unsuited for age group)

9. Nasreen's Secret School: A True Story from Afghanistan, by Jeanette Winter (Reasons: religious viewpoint, unsuited to age group, violence)

10. Two Boys Kissing, by David Levithan (Reasons: homosexuality and condones public displays of affection)

ALA Censorship Infographic for 2014

1. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie (Reasons: anti-family, cultural insensitivity, drugs/alcohol/smoking, gambling, offensive language, sex education, sexually explicit, unsuited for age group, violence, depictions of bullying)

2. Persepolis, by Marjane Satrapi (Reasons: gambling, offensive language, political viewpoint, politically, racially, and socially offensive, graphic depicitions)

3. And Tango Makes Three, Justin Richardson and Peter Parnell (Reasons: anti-family, homosexuality, political viewpoint, religious viewpoint, unsuited for age group, promotes the homosexual agenda)

4. The Bluest Eye, by Toni Morrison (Reasons: sexually explicit, unsuited for age group, contains controversial issues)

5. It's Perfectly Normal, by Robie Harris (Reasons: nudity, sex education, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group, alleges it is child pornography)

6. Saga, by Brian Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Reasons: anti-family, nudity, offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited for age group)

7. The Kite Runner, by Khaled Hosseini (Reasons: offensive language, unsuited to age group, violence)

8. The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky (Reasons: drugs/alcohol/smoking, homosexuality, offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited for age group, date rape and masturbation)

9. A Stolen Life, by Jaycee Dugard (Reasons: drugs/alcohol/smoking, offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited for age group)

10. Drama, by Raina Telgemeier (Reasons: sexually explicit)

1. Captain Underpants (series), by Dav Pilkey (Reasons: offensive language, unsuited for age group, violence)

2. The Bluest Eye, by Toni Morrison (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group, violence)

3. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie (Reasons: drugs/alcohol/smoking, offensive language, racism, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group

4. Fifty Shades of Grey, by E.L. James (Reasons: nudity, offensive language, religious viewpoint, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

5. The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins (Reasons: religious viewpoint, unsuited to age group)

6. A Bad Boy Can Be Good for A Girl, by Tanya lee Stone (Reasons: drugs/alcohol/smoking, nudity, offensive language, sexually explicit)

7. Looking for Alaska, by John Green (Reasons: drugs/alcohol/smoking, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

8. The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky (Reasons: drugs/alcohol/smoking, homosexuality, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group

9. Bless Me Ultima, by Rudolfo Anaya (Reasons: occult/Satanism, offensive language, religious viewpoint, sexually explicit)

10. Bone (series), by Jeff Smith (Reasons: political viewpoint, racism, violence)

1. Captain Underpants (series), by Dav Pilkey (Reasons: offensive language, unsuited for age group)

2. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie (Reasons: offensive language, racism, sexually explicit, unsuited for age group)

3. Thirteen Reasons Why, by Jay Asher (Reasons: drugs/alcohol/smoking, sexually explicit, suicide, unsuited for age group)

4. Fifty Shades of Grey, by E.L. James (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit)

5. And Tango Makes Three, by Peter Parnell and Justin Richardson (Reasons: homosexually, unsuited for age group)

6. The Kite Runner, by Khaled Hosseini (Reasons: homosexuality, offensive language, religious viewpoint, sexually explicit)

7. Looking for Alaska, by John Green (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited for age group)

8. Scary Stories (series), by Alvin Schwartz (Reasons: unsuited for age group, violence)

9. The Glass Castle, by Jeanette Walls (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit)

10. Beloved, by Toni Morrison (Reasons: sexually explicit, religious viewpoint, violence)

1. ttyl; ttfn; l8r, g8r (series), by Lauren Myracle (Reasons: offensive language, religious viewpoint, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

2. The Color of Earth (series), by Kim Dong Hwa (Reasons: nudity, sex education, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

3. The Hunger Games trilogy, by Suzanne Collins (Reasons: anti-ethnic, anti-family, insensitivity, offensive language, occult/satanic, violence)

4. My Mom's Having A Baby! A Kid's Month-by-Month Guide to Pregnancy, by Dori Hillestad Butler (Reasons: nudity, sex education, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

5. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie (Reasons: offensive language, racism, religious viewpoint, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

6. Alice (series), by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor (Reasons: nuditiy, offensive language, religious viewpoint)

7. Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley (Reasons: insensitivity, nudity, racism, religious viewpoint, sexually explicit)

8. What My Mother Doesn't Know, by Sonya Sones (Reasons: nudity, offensive language, sexually explicit)

9. Gossip Girl (series), by Cecily Von Ziegesar (Reasons: drugs, offensive language, sexually explicit)

10. To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee (Reasons: offensive language, racism)

1. And Tango Makes Three, by Peter Parnell and Justin Richardson (Reasons: homosexuality, religious viewpoint, unsuited to age group)

2. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie (Reasons: offensive language, racism, sex education, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group, violence)

3. Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley (Reasons: insensitivity, offensive language, racism, sexually explicit)

4. Crank, by Ellen Hopkins (Reasons: drugs, offensive language, sexually explicit)

5. The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins (Reasons: sexually explicit, unsuited to age group, violence)

6. Lush, by Natasha Friend (Reasons: drugs, offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

7. What My Mother Doesn't Know, by Sonya Sones (Reasons: sexism, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

8. Nickel and Dimed, by Barbara Ehrenreich (Reasons: drugs, inaccurate, offensive language, political viewpoint, religious viewpoint)

9. Revolutionary Voices, edited by Amy Sonnie (Reasons: homosexuality, sexually explicit)

10. Twilight, by Stephenie Meyer (Reasons: religious viewpoint, violence)

 ALA Censorship Data for 2000-2009

1. ttyl; ttfn; l8r, g8r (series), by Lauren Myracle (Reasons: drugs, nudity, offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

2. And Tango Makes Three, by Peter Parnell and Justin Richardson (Reasons: homosexuality)

3. The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky (Reasons: anti-family, drugs, homosexuality, offensive language, religious viewpoint, sexually explicit, suicide, unsuited to age group)

4. To Kill A Mockingbird, by Harper Lee (Reasons: offensive language, racism, unsuited to age group)

5. Twilight (series), by Stephenie Meyer (Reasons: religious viewpoint, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

6. The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

7. My Sister's Keeper, by Jodi Picoult (Reasons: homosexuality, offensive language, religious viewpoint, sexism, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group, violence)

8. The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big, Round Things, by Carolyn Mackler (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

9. The Color Purple, by Alice Walker (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

10. The Chocolate War, by Robert Cormier (Reasons: nudity, offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

 ALA Censorship Data for 2000-2009

1. And Tango Makes Three, by Justin Richardson and Peter Parnell (Reasons: anti-ethnic, anti-family, homosexuality, religious viewpoint, unsuited to age group)

2. His Dark Materials trilogy, by Philip Pullman (Reasons: political viewpoint, religious viewpoint, violence)

3. ttyl; tffn; l8r, g8r (series), by Lauren Myracle (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

4. Scary Stories (series), by Alvin Schwartz (Reasons: occult/satanism, religious viewpoint, violence)

5. Bless Me, Ultima, by Rudolfo Anaya (Reasons: occult/satanism, offensive language, religious viewpoint, sexually explicit, violence)

6. The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky (Reasons: drugs, homosexuality, nudity, offensive language, sexually explicit, suicide, unsuited to age group)

7. Gossip Girl (series), by Cecily von Ziegesar (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

8. Uncle Bobby's Wedding, by Sarah S. Brannen (Reasons: homosexuality, unsuited to age group)

9. The Kite Runner, by Khaled Hosseini (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

10. Flashcards of My Life, by Charise Mericle Harper (Reasons: sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

 ALA Censorship Data for 2000-2009

1. And Tango Makes Three, by Justin Richardson and Peter Parnell (Reasons: anti-ethnic, anti-family, homosexuality, religious viewpoint, sexism, unsuited to age group)

2. The Chocolate War, by Robert Cormier (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, violence)

3. Olive's Ocean, by Kevin Henkes (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit)

4. The Golden Compass, by Philip Pullman (Reasons: religious viewpoint)

5. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, by Mark Twain (Reasons: racism)

6. The Color Purple, by Alice Walker (Reasons: homosexuality, offensive language, sexually explicit)

7. ttyl, by Lauren Myrcale (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

8. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, by Maya Angelou (Reasons: sexually explicit)

9. It's Perfectly Normal, by Robie Harris (Reasons: sex education, sexually explicit)

10. The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky (Reasons: homosexuality, offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

 ALA Censorship Data for 2000-2009

1. And Tango Makes Three, by Justin Richardson and Peter Parnell (Reasons: anti-family, homosexuality, unsuited to age group)

2. Gossip Girls (series), by Cecily Von Ziegesar (Reasons: homosexuality, sexually explicit, offensive language, unsuited to age group)

3. Alice (series), by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor (Reasons: offensive language and sexually explicit)

4. The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things, by Carolyn Mackler (Reasons: anti-family, offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

5. The Bluest Eye, by Toni Morrison (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

6. Scary Stories (series), by Alvin Schwartz (Reasons: insensitivity, occult/Satanism, unsuited to age group, violence)

7. Athletic Shorts, by Chris Crutcher (Reasons: homosexuality, offensive language)

8. The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky (Reasons: homosexuality, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

9. Beloved, by Toni Morrison (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

10. The Chocolate War, by Robert Cormier (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, violence)

 ALA Censorship Data for 2000-2009

1. It's Perfectly Normal: Changing Bodies, Growing Up, Sex, and Sexual Health, by Robie H. Harris (Reasons: abortion, homosexuality, nudity, religious viewpoint, sex education, unsuited to age group)

2. Forever, by Judy Blume (Reasons: offensive language, sexual content)

3. The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger (Reasons: sexual content, offensive language, unsuited to age group)

4. The Chocolate War, by Robert Cormier (Reasons: sexual content, offensive language)

5. Whale Talk, by Chris Crutcher (Reasons: racism, offensive language)

6. Detour for Emmy, by Marilyn Reynolds (Reasons: sexual content)

7. What My mother Doesn't Know, by Sonya Sones (Reaons: sexual content, being unsuited to age group)

8. Captain Underpants (series) by Dav Pilkey (Reasons: anti-family content, unsuited to age group, violence)

9. Crazy Lady!, by Jane Leslie Conly (Reasons: offensive language)

10. It's So Amazing! A Book about Eggs, Sperm, Birth, Babies, and Families, by Robie H. Harris (Reasons: sex education, sexual content)

 ALA Censorship Data for 2000-2009

1. The Chocolate War, by Robert Cormier (Reasons: offensive language, religious viewpoint, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group, violence)

2. Fallen Angels, by Walter Dean Myers (Reasons: offensive language, racism, violence)

3. Arming America: The Origins of a National Gun Culture, by Michael A. Bellesiles (Reasons: inaccurate, political viewpoint)

4. Captain Underpants (series), by Dav Pilkey (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit)

5. The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky (Reasons: homosexuality, offensive language, sexually explicit)

6. What My Mother Doesn't Know, by Sonya Sones (Reasons: offensive language, unsuited to age group, sexually explicit)

7. In the Night Kitchen, by Maurice Sendak (Reasons: nudity, offensive language, sexually explicit)

8. King & King, by Linda deHaan (Reasons: homosexuality)

9. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, by Maya Angelou (Reasons: homosexuality, offensive language, racism, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

10. Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck (Reasons: offensive language, racism, violence)

​​​​​ ALA Censorship Data for 2000-2009

1. Alice (series), by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor (Reasons: sexual content, offensive language, unsuited to age group)

2. Harry Potter (series), by J.K. Rowling (Reasons: occult/Satanism)

3. Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck (Reasons: offensive language)

4. Arming America: The Origins of a National Gun Culture, by Michael Bellesiles (Reason: inaccuracy)

5. Fallen Angels, by Walter Dean Myers (Reasons: drugs, offensive language, racism, sexual content, violence)

6. Go Ask Alice, by Anonymous (Reasons: drugs)

7. It's Perfectly Normal, by Robie Harris (Reasons: homosexuality, nudity, sexual content, sex education)

8. We All Fall Down, by Robert Cormier (Reasons: offensive language, sexual content)

9. King & King, by Linda de Haan (Reasons: homosexuality)

10. Bridge to Terabithia, by Katherine Paterson (Reasons: occult/Satanism, offensive language)

ALA Censorship Data for 2000-2009

1. Harry Potter, by J.K. Rowling (Reasons: occult/Satanism, violence)

2. Alice (series), by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor (Reasons: homosexuality, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

3. The Chocolate War, by Robert Cormier (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

4. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, by Maya Angelou (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group, violence)

5. Taming the Star Runner, by S.E. Hinton (Reasons: offensive language)

6. Captain Underpants, by Dav Pilkey (Reasons: offensive language, unsuited to age group)

7. The Adventures of Huckleberry Film, by Mark Twain (Reasons: offensive language)

8. Bridge to Terabithia, by Katherine Paterson (Reasons: occult/Satanism, offensive language, violence)

9. Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry, by Mildred D. Taylor (Reasons: offensive language)

10. Julie of the Wolves, by Jean Craighead George (Reasons: unsuited to age group, violence)

 ALA Censorship Data for 2000-2009

1. Harry Potter, by J.K. Rowling (Reasons: anti-family, occult/Satanism, religious viewpoint, violence)

2. Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group, violence)

3. The Chocolate War, by Robert Cormier (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group, violence)

4. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, by Maya Angelou (Reasons: offensive language, sexually explicit)

5. Summer of My German Soldier, by Bette Greene (Reasons: offensive language, racism, sexually explicit)

6. The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger (Reasons: offensive language, unsuited to age group)

7. Alice (series), by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor (Reasons: sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

8. Go Ask Alice, by Anonymous (Reasons: drugs, offensive language, sexually explicit)

9. Fallen Angels, by Walter Dean Myers (Reasons: offensive language)

10. Blood and Chocolate, by Annette Curtis Klause (Reasons: sexually explicit, unsuited to age group)

ALA has been tracking the top 10 most challenged books since 2001. See if you've read any of the banned books listed!