Skip to main content

Using Microsoft WORD: Creating References

Adding Citations

NOTE: Word doesn't offer the most recent version of MLA for creating citations. The most recent version of MLA is the 8th edition. 

When you add a new citation to a document, you also create a new source that will appear in the bibliography.

  1. On the References tab, in the Citations & Bibliography group, click the arrow next to Style.

Office 14 Ribbon

  1. Click the style that you want to use for the citation and source
  2. For example, social sciences documents usually use the MLA or APA styles for citations and sources
  3. Click at the end of the sentence or phrase that you want to cite.
  4. On the References tab, in the Citations & Bibliography group, click Insert Citation.

Office 14 Ribbon

  1. Do one of the following:
    • To add the source information, click Add New Source.
    • To add a placeholder, so that you can create a citation and fill in the source information later, click Add New Placeholder. A question mark appears next to placeholder sources in Source Manager.
  2. Begin to fill in the source information by clicking the arrow next to Type of source.

For example, your source might be a book, a report, or a Web site.

  1. Fill in the bibliography information for the source.

To add more information about a source, click the Show All Bibliography Fields check box.

Create a Bibliography

NOTE: In MLA, a bibliography is called a Works Cited page.

You can create a bibliography at any point after you insert one or more sources in a document. If you don't have all of the information that you need about a source to create a complete citation, you can use a placeholder citation, and then complete the source information later.

 Note   Placeholder citations do not appear in the bibliography.

  1. Click where you want to insert a bibliography, usually at the end of the document.
  2. On the References tab, in the Citations & Bibliography group, click Bibliography.

Office 14 Ribbon

  1. Click a predesigned bibliography format to insert the bibliography into the document.